April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Plants vs Ants

by MuschEffekt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Plants vs Ants is a copy from the popular game "Plants vs Zombies". With rainbows.

Why does ist fit in Minimalsm? Do you see any advanced graphics? :D

How to play the game:
- The Nyan Cats will give you Rainbow-Energy.
- Plant new plants from the energy.
- Destroy ants.
- Survive level 30!

How to start the game:
- Download the zip-file.
- Extract it wherever you want.
- Start "start.html".
- A webbrowser will open the game.
- Doesn't start? Make sure you installed Java correctly.

How to view the source:
- Download the zip-file.
- Extract it wherever you want.
- Extract the "pva-workspace.zip".
- Start eclipse and choose the directory as workspace.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

negativeview says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38am

I can't seem to launch the game. :( Win 7, 64 bit. Java 6, which should be set up right as I did my game in Java, too...

MuschEffekt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Hmm... did you extract it correctly?
For easier ways: I put the game online. Maybe there are ads... (I'm using a free hoster ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Same issue as negativeview, also with browser (Chrome, latest Java).

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I can't seem to play the game either. I have Windows 7 64-bit with Java 6. I tried Game/Source download and the web version. Both don't work.

MuschEffekt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21am

Weird. Maybe the code for the applet in HTML isn't correct?! :/

"<object archive="pva.jar" classid="java:musch.ld26.Main.class"
codetype="application/java-vm" width="768" height="448">
</object>" - That's the code I used. Maybe someone could help?!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27am

Windows 7 64-bit Java 7, not working for me.

Super Hamster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I can't play the game.

Cirrial says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:32am

Game didn't run for me downloaded or on web, when I tried to build from sources the images didn't load properly. Can't play, sorry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]