April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Z

by bms - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A *VERY* short game about the z axis made in about 8h.
Sadly I didn't have time to do much for this LD, but it was fun anyway, I got to mess around in coffeescript and chipmunk.js Yay! \o/

left+right+jump: arrows
a: move in the z axis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#670Humor2.07
#728Innovation2.91
#790Theme3.30
#1039Fun2.42
#1152Mood2.16
#1234Graphics2.07
#1243Overall2.36
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

Pretty easy to pick up I just wish there was more content and cool feedback when you change the z axis.

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

Having an issue connecting to server.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Why so short ? I see a lot of potential here. The game concept is great, this could turn into an excellent little mind-bending game !

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

could be awesome if you had more time to make more levels. Still, a nice concept.

bms says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39am

Thanks for the feedback guys :)
I just didn't have the time to work on the game, I'm hoping to add some levels for a post compo version.

@roaet the game should work fine with chrome, didn't have the chance to test it out on other browsers though.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Minimalistic dimensional shifting! Yay!

Very short, but good proof of concept. If you extend it with some really brain-bending puzzles, it could be a lot of fun.
(I'm thinking something along the lines of Miegakure, Fez, Faultline, and some of Increpare's more twisted dimensional-shifting puzzles. There's probably a couple more examples I'm forgetting.) The key, I think, will be putting your unique spin on the puzzle design.

Works fine for me on Chrome.

I managed to figure out how to drop out of the level, by turning around and going back the way I came.

Griz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12am

Now that's beeing minimalistic.

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46am

There is definitely potential here... hope you expand upon the idea!

niun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

I love this idea. Can't wait to see more.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

Should pursue it more. Definitely gave me a Fez vibe with the shifting.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57am

I kinda like the idea. Having more levels would have been nice. I like it.

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

You've got a fun game engine, a pity you couldn't create more level. I'm looking forward the post compo version.

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:41am

If you had more time, you could have made quite a few levels within the 48 hours. I hope you do come up with some postcompo levels.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:37am

Sadly it needs more work .. hoping for a complete version

Cyborg771 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Not really much there, also the movement felt a bit weird. If you expand this into more of a game at some point consider lowering the momentum.

mramaizng says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:47pm

I will say that the small amount there was, was enough to make me want more :D

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:39pm

This is a really solid entry. This has high chances to win... :D just kidding. But it really would, if you would have spent more time on it. (Got inside the A, that is about the most challenging place to get)

May 4, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Very nice idea! It's a pity that there are only 2 level. Continue to develop it! ;)

alcazar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:49pm

It's a very interesting idea, need more levels :)

May 4, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Very Minimal!

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:16pm

This game has potential. Please continue developing it. Awesome!

johnste says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Wow, you weren't kidding about it being short. Could be plenty fun though!

May 14, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Wow, that was indeed short! I like the concept, but it needs more levels, and some music. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]