April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spark

by CNIAngel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a little girl looking for her spark in life.
--------------
Made in LibGDX with Eclipse. Art made in Aseprite. Music made in Sunvox.
--------------
Instructions:
1. Download Spark.rar
2. Extract
3. Double-Click Spark.jar
--------------
On MacOS? I recommend using Java 6 JRE to play this game. There seems to be a problem with LWJGL and Java 7.

WARNING: FLASHING LIGHTS AND STUFF
WARNING: MUSIC IS ONLY HEARD BY WIZARDS AND HEADPHONES
WARNING: I MADE A POST-COMPO VERSION https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/37769419/April/SparkPost.rar
WARNING: NO CLUE IF THE POST COMPO VERSION WORKS FOR ANYTHING BUT WINDOWS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#443Audio2.88
#580Humor2.19
#838Mood2.60
#901Theme3.17
#1132Graphics2.25
#1260Innovation1.98
#1263Fun1.95
#1297Overall2.19

Comments

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

The file is apparently corrupted =\

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

This isn't really a game, more of a "hold right to read a few sentences." The music was nice at least, and I suppose it has a decent message, though it's not delivered very powerfully.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

nice music.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

You should make it faster to move, or make it more visually interesting sooner. Just reading the text almost kept me from reading it all. I liked the audio/music.

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Didn't work for me, Sorry.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Ups for music and mood.

protensity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

It's a little simple but I like the music.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

it certainly was minimal, the arpeggios and general sound really worked for me. However, I feel the format could be explored better somehow; pacing, more diverse changes perhaps.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

I didn't find the spark.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

This didn't work on mac. Here's the error message: http://pastebin.com/xmrEAfs1

I've seen this before. It's an incompatibility between an older version of lwjgl and Java 7 on mac. To fix it just drop in the latest lwjgl native library and you should be good to go.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Spark.jar - CRC failed
Unexpected end of archive
Total errors: 2

So it didn't work

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Very interesting, i kept wanting to advance forward. The flashing was a little crazy but i think it added to the overall experience.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

Awesome, really nice atmosphere and concept.

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

The .rar says it's corrupted. Tried extracting with WinRAR and 7-zip.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

Interesting take on minimalistic mechanics. A little bit too minimalistic, maybe, and worth taking it a step further.

Also, I had to download it 3 times, as the downloads kept getting cancelled.

Congratulations! :)

CNIAngel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08am

I'm not sure why the .rar is being corrupted. I'm uploading it to my Dropbox and switching the link from my webhost. Hopefully this fixes the issue.

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:47am

Sorry, got bored after 10 seconds.

CNIAngel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I'm glad to hear that. Thanks for trying.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I waited a bit when 'wait' was the word... unfortunately no effect! :P Also did not find my spark. Minimalist for sure, using only one button to end the game. ;)

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Sorry, but this isn't really a game.

You just look at a few motivational posters and then the end..

Oh well.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

This game, while being minimal, was rather boring. I don't know why I even bothered completing it :P
Really needs more depth to it other than reading new text.

CNIAngel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

Thanks for all the comments folks! :D Really brings a smile to my face.

HackThePanda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26am

Perfect as always, my love

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:39am

A Java Exception has occured.. it didn't work

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:19am

A Java Exception has occurred. Can't play. :/

danblack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:32am

Didn't work for me, I got an exception. I'm running the latest JRE on Win 8 (for my sins!)

May 2, 2013 @ 7:47am

Was wondering if this was your 1st LD but checked & saw that you've done a few before so I'm thinking good interpretation of the theme.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:14am

Music didn't work for me. Basically no gameplay to this one.. I feel like this game is why they print epilepsy warnings on video game instruction manuals.

gmaker says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:32am

cool! good job.. music didn't work for me

CNIAngel says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:26am

@dremelofdeath and @gmaker Thanks. Warning is in the readme file. Also, use headphones to hear the music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]