April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chroma

by gameXcore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Introducing Chroma by gameXcore.

Chroma is an infinate, randomly generated marble maze set inside mazes inspired by Piet Mondrian's minimalist paintings.

You control the movement of the marble by rotating the maze around it and utilising gravity.

Controls:
- Left & Right rotate the maze.
- Spacebar - Jump

Timelapse Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrZgSm8EgN8&feature=youtu.be

Gameplay Video 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBoRb8bktGY&feature=youtu.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#36Theme4.28
#72Fun3.72
#114Overall3.74
#197Innovation3.62
#229Graphics3.60
#386Mood3.11
#419Humor2.44
#512Audio2.77

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

This was a really fun play. The levels being procedurally generated made me keep playing. It got fiendishly hard while using one simple mechanic while only using two buttons.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I liked the idea, however I had issues with the implementation of the gravity/bouncing. It seemed as though the ball fell at odd rates/bounced oddly off of objects, sometimes seeming to bounce further than it should have for a given impact. Could just be an issue with me though.

gameXcore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I agree uprightpat, it will be mentioned in my postmortem, under "What went wrong", basically I couldn't get the physics to work right, so I fudged it!

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Really beautiful, minimal style. Love the transitions between the screens. Really crisp graphics, looked great fullscreen. Difficulty increases very quickly - I haven't managed to get past level 4 yet!! Nice job.

Nambew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

A good game with simple control, but addictif content. I see a glitch with the collision in the fourth level, but don't reproduce it.

gameXcore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Update: Web port added, it comes with a bug int he level transitions though, gameplay is unchanged!

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:19am

I liked it, the mechanic is simple yet engaging.

One thing: Why limited lifes? After trying several times level 4 I got game overed then didn't wanted to start over :(

gameXcore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

The lives thing was something I battles over for a while, it was in and out. Basically my dilema was that the game has no final win condition, therefore without a way to lose the player is destined to play until bored, I didn't want someone to feel bored while playing therefore I required a logical point at which to stop.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Pretty nice game overall! One thing that bugged me was when I hit the edge of a doorway, I was teleported out of it, made for some frustrating accidental rolls into the red zones.

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59pm

TOOOOOOO hard, but cool game, want to see it on a mobile! ;)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:55pm

It was nice, but the controls were very hard to grasp, and the difficulty scale went off the charts by the 3rd level, haha. I would have been fine with that if I felt the controls gave me the freedom to deal with it, though.

katsumottojp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Very fun game! It is very simple yet very nice to play!

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Great game! Mechanics fit very well into the graphical theme, although its sometimes hard to spot the ball, when its going fast.

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:50am

Great use of simple controls. It fits the Mondrian paintings perfectly. Some of the larger puzzles were a little overwhelming, but challenging in a good way. Well done!

Spiridios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Talk about difficulty ramp-up! The tutorial has small maps with lots of walls and suddenly not only can you not see the edges, there are hardly any walls to rest on. Interesting concept, though. I could definitely see an interesting game here if it was balanced a little better.

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Thanks for the comments everyone, the difficulty ramp at level 4 is something I have spoken about in my post-weekend analysis. In short, there wasn't any levels, just randomly generated maps, then I threw in the first 3 levels right at the end just to get some kind of tutorial in

madballneek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Bravo, awesome use of the theme overall. This is extremely fun and addicting. The rate in which the screen spins does make me a bit dizzy, which rarely happens!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice demonstration of the concept. With some further design this could be a very interesting title. Good work!

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Liked the aesthetic and use of theme! Liked that game runs in full hd well :) Automatic respawn would be great :)

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:03am

Fun and twisty game, hurts my head a bit! Liked the graphical style inspiration and trying and failing to skillfully bounce everywhere.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:06am

Gah; this is everything I love *and* hate about labrynth ;) good job!

kyru says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Good game, very simple and straightforward but difficult.

donan says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Oh, wow, its really original. Controls and gameplay are awesome.

garygreen says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Great idea. I thought it worked well and was fun to play.

May 10, 2013 @ 3:07pm

It seems like the web version is down. :(

Dotanukii says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:43am

This is really awesome, and a lot of fun to play, great work, i really like the style.

pansapiens says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:58am

Runs really smoothly, and I like the trippy effect of the map rotating around the ball. Great stuff !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]