April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Little Planet of Doom

by NiceAlexanderAS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Far away from our galaxy, there is a tiny planet inhabited by Aliens who do not like large places. They are minimalists.
The Planet is so small that the aliens turned it into a ship and is now heading to our planet.
Our Planet is small but is very spacious on the ground.
Your mission is "simple": destroy the tiny planet and get out of there alive. You are the only one who can do it because the rest of the soldiers are afraid to go there.
You need to kill the 3 big rotating Aliens that are in the final level to destroy the tiny planet!!!

Important information:
* You need to extract all the game files to a new folder or is not going to work.
* You need XNA 4.0 : http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
* And also you need .NET Framework 4.0 : http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=17718

Enjoy the game guys :D :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#271Humor2.70
#367Fun3.19
#374Audio3.00
#566Mood2.86
#596Overall3.13
#726Graphics2.81
#1199Theme2.70
#1217Innovation2.08

Comments

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I enjoyed it. It seems like it goes on for a while and it's easy to run out of ammo. Also, collision of some objects is a little messed up. Overall, good game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Yes im going to fix the collition :D

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Unplayably slow on my machine, got about 1 frame every 2 seconds.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

IT was easy to cheese my way through the game - it seems enemies don't do anything until you get within certain range. It doesn't matter if you're shooting them or not. Also, having explosions hurt the enemies would be fun.

Overall good shooter for a compo entry.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

Shotgun seemed under powered. Level design was a little bland. I could shoot baddies before they would start chasing me.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

Nice game, liked it =O)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

I can't escape the feeling that this is a twin-stick shooter. I just don't get the feeling of anything interesting going on. What makes it special?

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

One of best game I've rated, great job ^^

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Pretty cool/fun game

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:14am

Pretty cool game. Shotgun is Pretty weak, and it's rather easy to simply stay out of the enemies' range(s) and take them out without even activating their pathing.

Still pretty good for a 48 hr game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40am

i enjoyed that -- shooting was a little clumsy but it was fun -- the ambient music was supreme -- great job!

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57am

Ending didn't have proper grammar (whatever). Cool game though. Great JOB :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Extremely slow on my machine as well. 1 frame per 1-2 seconds.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice game, very minimalist and cool! I've also seen the timelapse well done :)

michail says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Doesn't work for me (Windows 7) - I get a message "Little Planet of Doom has stopped working" immediately after launching the exe.

pl0xz0rz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Can't play it, it has 2fps.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:46pm

XNA games don't run in Wine unfortunately.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

On my machine it was running too slow. I had pretty much the same framerate as Beanalby. Is it a problem with dependencies on frameworks/programs or is a Intel i5 + gForce 540M just not enough?

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Love it ! is very similar to my game so i share feeling hehe, but is a shame that you didn't include the source code and the level editor :(

lanz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Fun little game! A bit too easy, because AI stops chasing you after you got far from them, but you can fire them from safety. Also great ending, I laughed! .)

anbreizh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Nice game. The enemies are dumb though, it's easy to shoot at them while they stand still.

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Same here. Got between 2 and 5 fps, ergo not playable.

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Cool game, but it feels like you had your idea before theme was announced :S. On the other hand, theme aside, this feels like a strong and extensive game taken its only been 48h in the making. Goood job, and I agree with most previous comments on AI and it being somewhat too easy :). Cheers!

May 2, 2013 @ 2:29am

If you check my timelapse video you can see that i design and made the game on the competition ... also yes the AI is kind of easy but i didn't have much time to complete it D: .... also some computers cant run the game but IDK why D: ....

May 2, 2013 @ 3:49am

Nice graphics, didn't seem to fit the theme though. Controls felt good but there wasn't much depth or progression to the gameplay. Also maybe the switches should just automatically get activated instead of requiring the player to push spacebar.

Adipson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:01am

nice !

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:03pm

That was a pretty neat entry, congratulations on making your game!

I think that the game would me more fun if the enemies' bullets were a bit slower. As it stands now, it is basically impossible to try and dodge the bullets, and combats become basically a slugfest.

Also, you should try to add some transitions next time: like a fade in/fade out when you enter or leave the menu or game over screens.

Also, doesn't really fit the game. You just took a generic mouse shooter and changed the enemies' names ;-) Challenge yourself!

Good luck on your next game!

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:21pm

It was a bit clumsy on my computer as well, but it was playable, please optimize it a bit!
Apart from that a good entry, liked the intro- humorous :)

Frib says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:28pm

The weapons felt a bit samey and there was too much ammo imo, but it's a solid game that's pretty entertaining!

May 5, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Good work... i like this univers ... but warning the name is realy not far of "little big planet"

barkergames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

The teleporting was confusing.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The descriptions in the beginning overwhelmed me. It doesn't really fit the theme, but neither does my entry ;) The transitions between the levels are kind of hard and the music loop was a bit short, but it fit the game. Still great work, I liked it and played till the end :)

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:22am

Reminds me of a top-down Doom, really great.
One major problem though: It gets really slow after some time... It starts without any lag, but from the moment the first enemy spawns it gets slower and slower.
Looking at the task manager, it doesn't seem to be a memory leak, but the game takes a considerable amount of CPU power... Try looking for bottlenecks in your code =D

Zim the Fox says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:31am

Maybe it is my computer being stupid (which is no surprise) but it lags a loooooooooot, it consumes all of the power of one core. Haven't rated yet.

Win7 64bit. 4GB of RAM, 2.0 Dual core processor.

PS. Minimalizing open spaces just means making more area. Not minimal at all :3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]