April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Brave New World: The Game

by Nolan C - Jam Entry

Ludum Dare and English class project overlapped, so I did both at the same time.

Based on Aldous Huxley's 1932 classic "Brave New World". Drop soma pills on people to keep the society happy. If one person gets too unhappy, everything blows up.

I'd say the art is pretty minimalistic. Beyond that, it's up to your own interpretation.

I'll be putting out a post-compo release tomorrow-ish, with some minor improvements. Let me know if you'd like to see anything added.

Tools used: FlashPunk, FlashDevelop, Bfxr, GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Theme(Jam)3.82
#116Humor(Jam)2.89
#347Graphics(Jam)2.93
#362Overall(Jam)2.89
#390Mood(Jam)2.57
#391Fun(Jam)2.57
#425Audio(Jam)1.92
#504Innovation(Jam)2.07
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

Got to 107, haha. Tough to keep up later on. Definitely very minimalistic. Well, at least it's simple anyways. People are happy or sad, make them happy. XD Good job. :)

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

it is minimalistic indeed. Plays well though. controls are simple and gameplay works without any bugs that I can see. So good job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

awesome -- totally retro -- i love when the game is over

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07am

Saw the game title and had to play it. Not disappointed. Pretty good minigame tie-in for a great work of literature :)

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19am

Smart use of theme. Pacification of the masses. I love how things "conclude" if you fail.

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11am

I like when everything exploding

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

To make an observation on the Brave New World theme, the game itself could be construed as a kind of soma pill for us players! :O

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I played the game without reading the description... Was a bit puzzled at first about what's going on ;) I Like how you incorporated a complex and deep matter in such a simplistic game. The game bored me pretty quickliy but it also made me think, and I like it when games do that ;)

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

The game over scene was very well scripted. You've successfully touched on a larger theme here, and were able to do a lot with very little. Bravo.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:20am

lol, that was awesome. Never thought I'd see this kind of game based on Brave new World haha. And holy poops, it's really hard at 146 lol

ethankennerly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:31am

Elegant graphics and audio reminded me of 1970s videogames. I laughed when the people exploded. Cute concept. If you continue to develop this, have you explored the rules that modulate each person's mood and exposing the internal state of each person's mood?

Pixelulsar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Graphics were minimalistic and it went well with the theme. I liked how people just exploded if they weren't happy.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Solid little game. Simple and I like the retro-esque.
Some people really explode when they are not happy. Interesting thoughts on there :)

brantkings says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:53pm

That is society in a nutshell. Good job! This was very solid all-together.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]