April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PuzzleBot

by minism - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** NOTICE ** -- I recommend reading the instructions for the game at the bottom of the post before playing

There are, like my other two entries, some collision detection bugs with this game. It is possible for both the player and blocks to pass through one another when approached from some set of diagonal vectors. I wasn't able to figure this out under the time limit so unfortunately it had to stay in. Aside from that I'm happy with how this game turned out, I think its my best so far for LD48.

I'm going to go pass out now. Thanks for playing! :D

Also, ill be doing a stream at some point in the near future of play throughs of random LD26 games with some friends. I'll definitely make another post about that.

-josh


Game Instructions
---------------

You can control puzzle bot with WASD or Arrow keys. Use W, Up, or Space to jump. Grab blocks underneath you by using J or Z. Throw blocks using K or X.

You can grab adjacent blocks by holding left or right and pressing grab. If you press "grab" again while holding a block, you can set the block down directly underneath you.

Clear blocks and avoid dying to advance. Blocks are cleared by lining up 3 of a common color in a row or column.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Fun4.03
#28Overall4.03
#102Audio3.58
#117Graphics3.87
#119Innovation3.77
#144Mood3.50
#713Theme3.38
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

A very nice twist on match three. Very polished for a LD game.

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Fun game. Nice snappy feel to the interactions. Not usually a fan of match-3s but quite enjoyed this.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

Very nice game!

Reminds me a lot of tetris plus for the PSX.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Pretty fun and polished. Only real criticism is the fact that there is no way to exit the game when you're playing it. Escape and clicking the 'X' in the window bar doesn't work, I have to kill myself (or kill the process :P) Interesting take on match-3.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Great take on the match three. Not sure how it matches the theme, but I sure had fun playing it.

Furyhunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

Brilliant adaptation of puzzle and platformer.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

Great job. I like your take on the genre. Very well done!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

Awesome. Well done Minism :)

vinull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53am

Neat little game, I like the twist on a standard match game. I never got used to the controls though, kept wanting pick up and throw to be the same key.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

That is really cool! I thing it would be better suited to a controller than a keyboard, but I could see myself playing the heck out of this if it was on my GBC.

I feel like having to manage not being squished is a bit much considering the time pressure.

I also think it might be more fun if it was only 3 colours but much faster. I could be wrong about that, just a sense that I got.

Great work, and very well put together!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

This is a really fantastic idea, and well executed! You should expand on this concept if you get a chance.

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

Very nice game! When you start getting the hang of the controls it gets a lot better!

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

Haha, cool game. A man trapped in a game of tetris! Reminds me of old indie "mr. blocko". Nice game, good job!

braneof says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

Fun game. I found that just dropping the blocks was easier than trying to throw them, but it was fun to play around with throwing too.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59am

I played this for freaking ages. So satisfying. If I had OCD I imagine I'd have been playing for far longer, too!

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16am

Very fun. It was surprisingly addicting, and the graphics are slick. Great job. It reminds me of Wario's Woods. You should check it out if you haven't played it.

Also, seeing you play Room on your stream was super helpful. A good learning experience. You did pretty great on your first run. I should have had some people test it to see if there was enough instruction.

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35pm

@Magnus yeah my friend told me about wario's woods mid development, i watched a video and its pretty funny how similar it is to my game. I'll have to play it

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:08pm

SWEET warios woods man play it

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:53am

Really decent game, got me addicted and I still carried on despite my keyboard deciding not to work sometimes. Would like to see it fleshed ott some more!

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:04am

I liked this a lot. Good music, and the gameplay reminds me of the classic Sega Genesis puzzle games.

May 11, 2013 @ 3:53am

"Love" it! :D

headchant says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Reminded me a lot of my own entry...but yours is better! Very good.

vrld says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Cool idea, well executed and presented. I really enjoyed this game and plan to continue enjoying it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]