April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PolyShot

by AlgidPlasma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Battle your way through drones, tanks and turrets in a polygon filled world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Overall3.42
#325Theme3.77
#367Fun3.19
#489Graphics3.12
#852Mood2.59
#913Audio2.06
#987Innovation2.50
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38am

It's saying, "Not a valid Win32 application", is this Win64 or something?

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

Sorry about that I forgot I developed with Love2D x64 so it should be fixed now.

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

It's quite difficult to see the player, but if you can it's fun.

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

The Linux download is a zip file containing lua scripts... not sure what I'm supposed to do with this

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

The sounds are too faint, but the graphics are good, the speed incredible and I love the vignette. You've put quite some work into the graphics and I fear not everyone will recognize that.

and highfive for love2d :D

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

@wrongcoder to run a .love file you need to get love2d from love2d.org and select your os and run Love2d with the downloaded love file.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

Love the graphics.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

First off, I should say I'm biased - I like this because of the similarity to my game! Unfortunately, I'm terrible at this. I only got up to 750 points... couldn't really see the projectiles all that well. Really like the designs and the gameplay though.

mikebolt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Fun!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

Very good game.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

I am horrible at this game but I should hold my lack of coordination against you. Great job. Loved the visual style.

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

There were sounds? I didn't hear anything. Though Jean Michael Jarre works wonders as background music for this game!

Slick looking, works great, loved it! If you are planning to expand on this, consider adding some sort of life/shield mechanic. Death comes pretty sudden. Slowing time like in Swift/Stich could also work!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

Was fun while i could play, the colors hurt my eyes.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

It looks great! The health bars look a bit out of place, they might have worked better as rings or something.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

Very cool game :) I like the graphics, though the ship is a bit tiny, but I was able to play. Also, it's a bit difficult, but it's acting more like a fun element than annoying.

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I love the look of the graphics. Great game.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

The graphics is cool!

Scott McBee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:38am

The sound was very quiet and the player's ship seemed especially tiny to me. The speed at which everything was occurring made me feel less like I was dodging with my own skill, and more like if I moved enough chances were I wouldn't get hit.

Szedouu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:57am

Very clean work! Fun to play and difficult. Good job

Catman says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:30am

Nice! It's hard to see all the bullets, tho, due to the so slim lines you used to create them. And the game made me realize how dirty my screen is! :)

Ernyz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:49am

Graphics were barely visible (eyes got tired quickly, thats the only reason I stopped playing sooner than I wanted to), although they looked like 3d, but I didnt have those red-blue glasses to test the graphics. Sounds were almost impossible to hear. Despite that, looks like fun shooter :)

May 11, 2013 @ 4:53am

Because the bad-guys don't predict your movements, it was easy enough to just fly in a circle shooting. I liked the unintuitive notion of always shooting the center. Looked like it would have been better with 3D shades :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]