April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

More than bricks

by Mesene - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there
I think it's my fifth entry and im very proud of it.


Technically isn't the best one I have done, but I'm happy of being capable to do something basic with HTML5 and crafty.js, it has been a little painful at the beginning but I thought it was a nice moment to test them, because the game was kinda simple and I didn't had much time to spend this week.

This game is a collection of three basic games and well renowned:
- Pong
- Breakout
- Space invaders

Programming them was not the challenge for me but it was change the behaviours and do nice transitions. I almost cry when the Invader showed up on my screen C:

It was also my first time with SunVox and I was capable to do a basic song wich gave a nice feeling to the game, it's a shame because now, after 12 hours listening the same I can't stand It.

Recording my voice was also weird, I thought I got a deeper voice to do something like Bastión's narrator and the micro has very low quality so there is a lot of noice. But somehow I think it keeps the nice aura and sensations for the game I thought.

I'm pretty sure there are few glitches on the game, maybe if it has a good reception ill fix them and add more games and transitions.

If you have read till here, please leave a comment, I'll be eager of read them.

Hope you have a nice time playing the game, see you soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#153Theme4.00
#225Humor2.83
#243Innovation3.53
#266Mood3.24
#390Overall3.33
#400Audio2.97
#515Graphics3.08
#797Fun2.72

Comments

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

I can only say this was a very epic game :)!

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

amazing idea. i really loved it!

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Fun game, shame there aren't more levels :)

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Yeah it's good. Transitions are well made.

minism says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Great idea, I liked it a lot! There's a couple simple balance fixes you could make: the breakout ball should move faster, and the firing rate of the player against the space invader should probably be limited, he was too easy to kill :)

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice experience and story :) It must hae taken a while to make these transitions

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Interesting little thing you've made. It's nice to acknowledge that Pong was not the most compelling game in the long run, we tend to idolize it. Granted, I woudl take Breakout/Arkanoid of the 3.

I enjoyed the style as well. The relationship to minimalism does seem tenuous at best.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Really nice idea, and good job at making it so minimalistic. :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I found it interesting. Would be cool to see how far you could push the concept.

Mesene says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

@All thanks for your acknowledgments!!
for English speakers, how did it felt at listening an Spanish narrator? helps on the mood?
Thanks for playing!

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice :)

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Wow, this is a beautiful video game history interactive documentary! You pulled it off really well! The gameplay and narrative didn't feel tact-on, they complement each other!

I think you manage to combine the two media together really well! Something that has puzzled a lot of game-devs and film-makers for a long time!

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Great work! I did something quite similar for the 24th LD (theme "evolution"), but your game is quite a bit more polished. I liked the narrative a lot, and the general style of the whole thing. It feels a bit like an interactive documentary about video games. Short, but I really enjoyed it!

May 1, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Nice melange of the classics. Good work.

Here's a hint for "RED" in PRISMA: match the two orbs with the same BRIGHT color. Timing is important.

messiano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:43am

Very compelling, I wish it was a bit longer! Congrats.

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Concept is awesome. Too bad it was too short :/

Mesene says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Thanks for your reviews! I'm glad you had a nice time playing "More than Bricks" I'm working on more levels, expect a postcompo version!

agmcleod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Love the idea, and very well executed. Needs an end screen though :)

May 2, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Great idea and awesome work! Would be cool to see this continue. You didn't need the voiceovers. Also you should try applying a noise removal filter to your recordings to get rid of the hiss.

Dissing says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Awesome concept. But I think the voice acting were more of a distraction for most non-spanish people.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice game! The narrator gives a very personal feeling to it. :)

voidstar69 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Nice quick overview of the early days of gaming, when minimalism ruled.

fastboxster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Wow, you pulled that together fast. The time lapse made it very interesting to see it come along. You should make it into a full-on game, sort of the history of gaming all the way up to current game tech. Great job!

infernet89 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:57am

Woha, it's true! We have a freakily similar concept, but your is way more elegant than mine! 5star for originality, even i just seen the same thing :P

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Cool transitions. Nice way to tell a story. Good job!

aquilicoco says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I love the story.
Good work.

jimday says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:32pm

slick!

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:31pm

A bit short. I liked the story.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Very clever. I dig it.

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Really creative game ! but soo short!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]