April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Twitch 21

by Jesse Freeman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Twitch 21 is a minimalistic take on BlackJack (21). You are given a number with 5 additional numbers below. Pick the right combination to add up to 21 to win the round!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#342Fun3.22
#458Theme3.63
#524Innovation3.16
#721Overall3.00
#1070Graphics2.33
#1088Mood2.28
#1934Coolness14%

Comments

Adjotur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13am

Fun little game. The controls are kind of undefined, and I coulnd't figure out what I was exactly trying to do after I reached 21.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

I like the game and the pixel art style

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I could play this on my phone for a long time.

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

Nice game. I wasn't sure what to do after hitting 21 though. After a few tries, I realized I needed to click the 21 (and go green) before it changed. After I figured that out, it was rather fun!

shohs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:16am

This is actually pretty fun! The only problem I see is that it is sometimes impossible to get to 21 (I got all 1's and 2's once). Other than that, good job.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:13am

Good work. Addictive stuff.

I got into a couple of situations where it was impossible to reach 21 though, because I started with only low values to select from.

Also it was a bit confusing at first that I had to click the number 21 once I've reached it. But I have to admit that it added to the gameplay and the stress that I had to tap it once I had the number right.

Anickyan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22am

Took a couple of failures to figure it out. Very nice game!

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:59pm

I had fun with this :) It was paced well and pretty enjoyable

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Kinda relaxing :-)
Some bleep chip sounds would have made it complete I think.

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Neat little game! I could see this doing well as a casual polished version.

Monkokio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Really impressed by this game. It goes back and forth between high-speed reflex and suspense really well, creating a very interesting rhythm.

jadams says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice execution of a simple concept. I found it surprisingly addictive.

Jesse Freeman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:45am

Thanks so much for the feedback. Glad to see people are enjoying the game. I should have clarified that you need to click on the large number to submit your value but after a little bit of trial and error it looks like everyone figured it out. I'll continue to refine the game and clear up the instructions in the next version.

berareu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:15am

Yeah at the beginning it's not very clear how it works, but it's a good idea and well executed. I really got into it!

May 5, 2013 @ 6:42am

Your interface needs a lot of work! Took me forever to realize the countdown timer was the number I was adding to! Once I figured that out it was a neat little reaction game. Add sounds, polish and work on interface, perhaps?

May 8, 2013 @ 11:06am

Pretty cool. May lack a little juice - sounds, some movement, but then again the theme was minimalism, so I guess you decided to be careful. Starting a round with a "1" is quite a pain - instant loose :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Interesting take on 21...

Sebastian says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Very fun and addictive little game! I really like the simplicity of the mechanics.

Xanjos says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Really nice and simple gameplay concept but definitely needs some sound to make it stand out more.

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I liked the idea, although I wish there was a bit more on how the scoring actually worked. Should I hit 20 right away, or wait a few seconds so that I can hit 21 exactly?

Dmitrix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:06am

Interesting. :)

namuol says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:58am

Nice take on blackjack! I'm terrible at arithmetic, but apparently I'm better when I'm under pressure and don't have time to think about it. o_o

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]