April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Mandelbrot Explorer Mk3 Turbo Deluxe with Cheese

by SeanAtr0n - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING: May induce SEIZURES in those who are known to be photosensitive.

I wouldn't normally consider this to be a game, but you could argue that it is one.

Click to center the screen
Scroll to zoom

(Sorry, this requires a fairly beefy gfx card. Try the postcompo version if the first doesn't work for you. You can't zoom nearly as far but its still kind of cool.)

This was my first time writing fractal code and it was pretty fun, learned a lot of things and now my brain hurts. Maybe I'll add some better controls once I recover.

Update 5/6: You can now descend up to 10^-15 in the PostComp DX11 version! (requires a gfx card capable of double precision operations) I also added a slider so you can skip a few frames to speed things up and combat the flickering. It's kind of cool to see which bulbs completely stop flickering depending on your iterations/frame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#470Graphics3.15
#912Innovation2.63
#1063Humor1.20
#1080Theme2.92
#1152Mood2.16
#1284Overall2.24
#1300Fun1.77
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

This is very impressive! You should make a version without such clashing colors though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

I've been looking for a fractal viewer for some time now. Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

Mathematical!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

Nice fractal viewer!
Somewhat dissappointing it get pixelated when you scroll down far enough.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

Yeah, I really wanted to do a deep zoom at first but ran into shader instruction limits for directX (apparently you can't force Unity to use OpenGL in the webplayer)

I like seeing them built up over time though, for me that made my understanding of fractals finally click. Also it's cool to see how the points that don't reach infinity are oscillating.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

Not exactly a game, but it's definitely minimal! Fun way to explore the fractal. My only suggestions are to add a smoother way to zoom and pan around, and maybe to make some other color palettes. Nice job.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

Oh my... fractals!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

Where the gayms at?

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:41am

Whats the minimum requirement to be a game?

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03am

heck yeah fractal booooom! nice nice :)

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Not sure why it has to flash so much, makes it difficult to look at. I always enjoy exploring mandelbrots, but that makes it a bit hard. Also, the web page/unity player setup is a bit weird, it covers the whole screen in width, but only a small bit in height, giving it a very weird aspect ratio. I can make the window width very small to get right aspect, but then the total size used is pretty small. I'm running Firefox if that helps.

I agree it's maybe not a game, but if it's fun to play with then the distinction is unimportant to me, especially with a theme such as this.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49pm

interesting concept.
It would be fun to see something interact with the mandelbrot

Super Hamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:19am

I get a black screen when I run it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:52am

with a theme like minimal -- how can you not give this a high score?

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

Maybe not "game", but "toy" is a good term for it or the general "interactive media".

I like fractals, and exploring fractals, but the headache-inducing dazzle makes it a bit too rough on the brain.

danblack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

Nice but not a game.

ovenchips says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:03am

Just got back from the hospital after my seizure.

martijn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I have made mandelbrot rederers before but never thought of rendering per iteration. (I usually rendered per line for a set amount of iterations)

Boiúna says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:59pm

AWESOME! This is a total trip.

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:02pm

My main problem with this is, that "Mandelbrot" means as much as "Almondbread" in german, so I always get hungry seeing those fractals... I like the ongoing rendering. Makes for some nice effects :)

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:08am

Hough ! Your game has crashed my computer 3 times... What a pity !

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:25am

Fractals are nice, but they're not a game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]