April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinimalRPG

by Awennor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Need WebGL browser to play, like Firefox or Chrome.
It's a minimalistic RPG, veeeery old school-like. Hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Humor3.96
#126Theme4.05
#224Fun3.39
#282Mood3.22
#352Overall3.38
#766Innovation2.86
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Nice and funny game. Minimalistic not only in implementation.

sarydactl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

Pretty simple, fun to play through. I was worried I would die a few times...an hp indicator other than text might help. But then again...it's supposed to be minimal, so it's good :9 .

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Very fun, love the writing.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Well done and hilarious. Thought the combat started to get monotonous, but generally liked this quite a bit.

Wan & Almudys says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

Nice! The story and writing were nice, overall this was fun to play. Maybe this could have used more story choices and less fighting, but since the game is short it didn't last long enough to get bored of the fights!

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nice work! Went straight for the cake and enjoyed the story. One thing that would make it a little more convenient is allowing you to use any key to advance text. Thank you for sharing!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Memories of page turning RPG books from years ago. Nice approach, fun to play. Shame about the cake, went dragonways first

free_napalm says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:55pm

It was very fun, I laughed out loud when the narrator said "I don't know, English is not my first language", because it hilariously broke immersion. Fighting was a bit boring though, you could just spam 1 until your wound hurts, then 3 and repeat.

Mikel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:06am

Great ultra minimal game... I was starting to think that the cake was a lie...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]