April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Short Fall

by Arowx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a simple six degrees of freedom shooter, with basic sound effects and levels.

v0.1c Improved explosions, enhanced sound effects, more "Dark Tribbles", tweaked gameplay mechanics.

Any and all feedback welcome!

PS Watch out for those ricochets, Unobtainium lined air ducts can be tricky like that, a bit like magnetically sealed trash compactors.

Video on Youtube http://youtu.be/mx7bCW-7CCA

Source code provided (see below), note that I have not provided the content or Unity project as its about 96 Mb and includes my content and assets I have purchased, which I cannot share e.g NGUI and Component Copier.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Graphics3.90
#196Overall3.58
#210Fun3.42
#358Mood3.14
#610Audio2.62
#739Innovation2.90
#885Humor1.81
#885Theme3.19
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

continuesaga says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This is very nostalgic for some reason. Q and E are overpowered! Are you going to continue adding stuff post mortem?

Arowx says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Still got 1 day and seven hours to improve it ATM. I'll look at reducing the speed of the roll cheers.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

Really liked this one, reminds me of the first 3d stuff - dug the lighting effects especially.

imagnity says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:33am

Jesus! This brings back memory. Nice, very nice.

Arowx says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Cheers imagnity and JohnnySix, Just put version 0.1b online, more enemies, tweaked mechanics, improved explosions and sound effects lots of little things but trying to keep true to Minimalist theme and improve the gameplay.

gossfunkel says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:10pm

This game is fantastic, great fun- my only complaint would be how responsive the mouse is. It's quite hard to aim at targets when the slightest twitch moves your crosshairs several metres away! But other than that it's got great aesthetics, the keyboard controls are very well done, and it sounds really good now it's updated to 0.1b!

Arowx says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I've got my mouse on max sensitivity so try upping it for the game that should help.

hughsk says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Just a heads up: Macs have pretty sensitive mice, making the game really hard to control - looks interesting though! :)

Arowx says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:48pm

OK New version turn sensitivity reduced 50% still plays OK for me. Also ramped up the difficulty a bit it was way too easy, let me know if it's still too easy?

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

It reminds me a bit of the Descent series. Very well done.

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Cool. Nice relaxing pace, leads to some oddly chilled-out firefights. Could do with a bit of an ambient soundtrack, I reckon.

Arowx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

PS if you're an owner of a Rift check the Oculus Dev forum there might be a treat there for your eyes only!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Pretty nice. Really liked the lighting effects and general freedom of movement. Some nice ambient music would go great with this, as has been said.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

This game had a very nice feel to it. I liked the exploring dark weightless corridors looking for enemies, and the lighting was a really great touch, as were the bullet effects and enemy death animations. My main criticism for the game is that it's occasionally difficult to search the whole level for the last five enemies, although the lights really help that by letting you see which rooms you've been in. It would be nice if the lights didn't alternate states with every bullet, however. Also, the player looks kind of off. It is just a triangle always facing the camera in the 3D world.

Arowx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Cheers OK So post LD update with, Ambient music, Light switch locking, End level find the enemy problem resolved, xbox controller, also going to add strafe up/down keys.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

Nice! I saw you on the Oculus Forum, looking forward to testing this when I get mine. I found the roll to be too slow personally.

Arowx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Managed to get a new non LD build up and running, with Xbox controller, music, light switching, beginning of a Rift compatible HUD and Vertical Strafing.

Link -> https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19148487/LD26/V01.1/V01.1.html

Arowx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

There is a bug in the way Unity handles the Xpads triggers you can only press one at a time so the right shoulder button also fires.

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38am

Definitely takes me back to the Descent days. The lighting in the game looks quite nice! I noticed there was occasionally some clipping near the walls, but nothing major. Great work!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16am

This got even better since I tried it before! Really like it, now that you sped it up. Controls are great and love the graphics, great job!

Dabuuker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice death effects (very satisfying to shoot enemies down) and fun gameplay. Controls could be a bit tighter, faster change in velocity.

Arowx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Thanks for the feedback working on the post LD version in the above comment link. Same link as above but now with targeting HUD (just direction indicators). But you need to turn the lights/sensor on in each room for best coverage. Warning turned up the sfx volume a bit. What do you think?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:03pm

A bit like aaaAAaaaAAAah for the awesome !

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Score: 1200.
I would like to play more this game, like other users it reminds me of the old ship-shooter games from my childhood too :) when the first generations of graphic cards hehe

More Good things about this game: lighting, explosions, shadows, underground sounds, nostalgic feelings, and predictive firing! :D

joshimoo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Great mood.
It's been a long time since I played a 6DF shooter.

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:58am

I really enjoyed this one. I liked the lighting, I loved the gameplay, and well, I just liked the game. Good job :)

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:32am

Really cool! You've got a nice engine that could be turned into a great full game.

Benn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I really enjoyed this! I think it worked well with Unity too :)

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Could have done with some eerie music, but otherwise a great game!

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Really pretty game, enjoyed all the effects. :)

Prelucid says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Very cool. It does remind me of older games, but the way they were portrayed in movies.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:27am

I loved the controls for this game, it was great! I actually liked the controls in the LD version better than the post-compo version. Same for the audio. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]