April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Stunts

by Per - Jam Entry

Hello!
I miss the good old days when I played Stunts. This game is very much inspired by that game :)


Use arrows or WASD to drive the car. Press escape to restart current level.


Unfortunately, I didn't implement an in-game editor like in the original, but it might show up in the post-jam version.

It is an html5, javascript web game made with Three.js (webgl), Cannon.js and soundmanager2 (reverts to good old flash if no html5 sound is available).
The music was procedurally generated with abundant-music.com

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#165Fun(Jam)3.18
#192Overall(Jam)3.33
#256Graphics(Jam)3.27
#300Theme(Jam)3.19
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#332Audio(Jam)2.69
#332Mood(Jam)2.74
#435Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Great game. Though it can be confusing sometimes controlling the car... Still, it's fun :D

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

bouncy moon rover racing!

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Super fun! I love the feeling of this one, it reminds me of some of my favorite old-school 3d games. Good work!

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Wanna more speeeeed :)

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Badly needs the track editor! And where can I select the car? I want the Lancia! ;-)

I kid, I kid - Your game is great fun! I think you have captured the essence of stunts. I also liked the visuals, you've even managed model the Lamborghini LM002 pretty accurately! ;) The bloom filter is a nice touch (though my poor little intel-graphics machine can't quite keep up with bloom switched on). Props for the settings menu, and also for making the game re-scale to the size of the browser window. A little engine sounds would have been nice. But other than that - great work! That was fun!

michail says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Pretty impressive work, the physics are really nice.

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Nice entry, and nice style. Maybe turning kart to left/right is too sensible, but still a nice interaction.

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Fun game with some nice, radioactive graphics. :) Not too aligned with the theme...but hey, I had an awesome time driving around! Car seems to get caught on the up-ramps which was a bit frustrating. And the cars suspension was a bit bouncy. Otherwise, great job - well done!!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Fun game, very smooth motion.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Good job on balancing the game, unfortunately I never played Stunts, so no nostalgia for me. The physics are too erratic for my taste, driving up a ramp is only possible at a snail's pace. The biggest problem is that you can't reset, which left me lying on my side or back several times, mournfully looking at the timer running out. Because of this I gave up on level 4.

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:30pm

@Dining Philosopher: If you press escape, the pause menu should show up and present the "restart" option

maxking1234 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Really good physics, overall a fun game!

siondream says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:36am

Great game! I like the simplicity of the environment. It'd help if you knew where the front and the rear of the car are :-D.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Whee! Physics! And even a settings screen! Great game, but I got a lousy frame rate, even when switching off the graphics enhancement.

Nonameghost says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Nice polish! Car's a bit tough to drive sometimes, but the graphics are nice and it's pretty fun in general. Nice work!

SenorDiablo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:24pm

cute I like it

May 10, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Nice old school racing game. Stunt Car Racer, anyone ? :) This one seems to require some slower driving, however...

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice little racer. I think a few textures would have given a better sense of speed but it's fun as it is.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]