April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Defender

by kratorspore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The world is encroaching on your minimalist space. Your aim to to rid the world of coloured blocks until only you remain.

The player is in the centre. It will fire bullets of the same colour. Bullets will destroy blocks of the same colour. If a bullet hits a block not of the same colour, the player's colour changes to that of the block.

Like Solitaire, it is possible for the game to be un-winable but skilful play minimises this chance.

Keys:
Q = Rotate walkable area left
E = Rotate walkable area right
Arrows = Move and fire
Return = Restart if you get stuck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Innovation3.65
#308Theme3.80
#565Fun2.98
#596Overall3.13
#702Graphics2.85
#832Audio2.22
#906Mood2.53
#1046Humor1.41
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Interesting concept!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Cool Idea, Great graphics!, Needs some good old tetris music for sure :D

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Cool concept!

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Interesting but the web player version is not centered. I cant see the top cube.:(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Interesting mechaninchs. I thinks it's unique. Never saw something similar.
Is it published to Linux with Unity4 ?

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Like the game, interesting idea. Maybe some background music and fast gameplay (Just kidding on the latter) could be good. This is one of those few slow gameplay games on this one. Like it!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Thanks for the great comments! @RealyUniqueName yeah its a Unity4 export.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Huh, great concept, there's something awesome in there.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Great concept- I've never seen it before. I like the idea, very simple, and still you need to think before you act. Great game!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Original! I keep getting stuck with no moves left, but I guess thats a part of the game!

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I enjoyed this. It was kind of like aggressive tetris.

mikeware says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Like the concept, would be nice to have a bit more pressure with the blocks slowly but constantly moving towards you, though definitely a surprise the first jump. Would have liked it to always give me a color I could use so I can't get in a state where I'm just waiting for death. Have the blocks reaching you be the only losing factor.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

Graphics and audio were clean and simple. The gameplay was unique, but the controls took a little getting used to.

haloflooder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00am

It's like a jewels version of the Rubik cube

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

Really cool idea.

I got stuck more than I'd like to admit. But it gets addictive after a little while.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38am

pretty unique. You're right you can screw yourself, but it's pretty fun

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28am

I thought that the idea was fairly original for 'fling block' games, but I also found it a tad superficial and too easy to get stuck. It is a thinking game, but I felt that the mechanic wasn't all to fun. That said, you did a good job at bringing the whole idea together, and feel that with some work it could turn out a lot more rounded. Unique twist, but not completely sure a twist I enjoy.

Kalakian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Great game, fits the theme well. Some music would be a nice addition

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

It's weird, on the surface this looks like a typical shooting game, but it's actually a really clever puzzle game. I've never had to think so much trying to shoot things... Cool stuff!

RandomSpark says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Funy game =)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Very nice :) Took me a few turns to get a grasp on the controls. But I thoroughly enjoyed this.

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Nice puzzle logic, the cube in the middle bugged out a bit for me. A little slow in terms of gameplay, otherwise a really cool game.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Pretty simplistic, but still enjoyable.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Very smart gameplay idea, but you may be hesitating too much between reflexes and reflexion. It's some kind of puzzle game, you have to think to avoid being unable to finish it, yet the cubes just come in, encouraging a faster reaction. So I shot everywhere and didn't think that much, because doing both would be too difficult (or maybe you need some more tutorial levels or a difficulty ramp with several levels).

Yet it is hard to achieve such reflexion in 48h :) And the overall experience is pleasant, the sfx are good. Well done.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25pm

This surprised me, it's a good idea and you actually have to think so that you don't run out of colours before destroying all the blocks. Well Done =]

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Very innovative concept. I was thinking the swap key would ruins the control but infact it's very intuitive. The problem is the color lock : You should either detect the no-possible-move situation and kill the player or adding a key to swap your color ( in counterpart of a block move for example )

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]