April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Astray during Tea Time

by djdduty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:WASD

The goal is to navigate through a maze and find your tea, you have to keep a minimal distance traveled or you get lost. I was going to implement a score based on how short a path you too, which would have been very simple, a line or two, since the distance you traveled is already there, but I got bored of this extremely fast, faster than usual, and so
it is an extremely short, and crappy game, even for me, I lacked motivation as I am not particularly fond of this theme, and the editor I created for the levels was a pain to use, so there is only four(hit e on the menu, and try out the editor, 1-0 change what texture you have selected for collide layer, left click places on collide layer, right click places a floor tile).

p.s. No sound either, because apparently ALSA decided to crap out on me, and I cannot record sounds from a matrix music sequencer, also for some reason sfxr wasn't working, oh well!

EDIT: I forgot, I used my publicly available Wolf2D engine at https://github.com/djdduty/Wolf2D but I changed/added a bunch of stuff to it during the compo.

Edit: Hopefully no one actually LOOKS at the source xD

EDIT AGAIN: I updated the package, I forgot the mac natives originally. If the app package doesn't work, just running the jar should be fine now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#168Humor3.05
#497Graphics3.11
#825Overall2.92
#926Mood2.50
#997Fun2.48
#1006Innovation2.46
#1006Theme3.04
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nice game, I liked where it was going, but there could have been a lot more going on (you mentioned the scoring for example. But all in all, twas a quaint joy to participate in the locating of this gentleman's tea.

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

Fun mazes. I might suggest procedurally generating maps, so that there can be more levels with less extra work if you continue working on this game. I really liked the text, it was pretty funny.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

I liked it. It's a bit hard to guess where the tea is, but it's okay. (Ps: a lot of people read other's code!)

djdduty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

I would have made the levels procedural, if I actually had experience with procedural generations, the game would be much more complete then, since I spent a lot of time just making those four levels... and thanks for the feedback guys! I figured the distance left would give a hint as to where the tea was(hint, he knows how far because he is so accustomed to the smell!), and since you can see most of the dead ends with the zelda-style perspective..

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14am

One small bug: if you finish the game and then try to restart it, it automatically takes you back to the "you won" screen.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16am

Couldn't get it to work on my mac =(

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

A real gentleman desperately needs his tea.
What i didn't like is that the game difficulty derives all together from trial and error, meaning that once you discover (and remember) the route you're done.
Anyways nice entry.

djdduty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

Yeah SkyWolf, that was my main thought going with this game, but keep in mind I had much more elaborate mazes planned, procedural generation would have kept it interesting.

djdduty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

Can you run it from a terminal on mac and give me the error?

djdduty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

@SkyWolf, stupid me, I forgot the mac natives, I updated the link now.

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Cool!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50am

I really like the little dude. The gameplay is sort of constrained by the limitations of all maze games, though the distance-o-meter helps to alleviate that somewhat (at least you don't always screw up, reload, go in a different direct, rinse repeat).

Really seriously like the guy. I like a man who dresses with dignity.

berkano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Jolly good show old chap!!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:21am

Unfortunately I could not get the game to run. The machine is Mac OSX, and the app just didn't launch anything.

Drabiter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:49am

The game is really hard. But I love how the sir speaks :D

TenTonToon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:23am

I like the core concept of having to navigate a maze using a "hot/cold" approach.

I had some trouble navigating the levels, though, as the character tends to hit the corners when moving horizontally. You could have made the collision mask smaller for the character, or the corridors a little bit wider.

Bearing in mind that many times you have to decide which way to go without any information, it would have been nice to have a reset key to restart the level and try a different direction whenever it becomes obvious you've taken a wrong turn.

Finally, the use of the theme is appropriate, but a little too much "on your face" a lot of the time, with so many repeated references to it.

djdduty says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:45pm

@recursive frog, can you run it from a command line and tell me the errors you get? I included all the mac natives this time...

alexanderm006 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I agree with posts above, make the game procedural, otherwise, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]