April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cottonhead

by Patacorow - Jam Entry

A game about a thing with a nose that wants to fly or something.

Code by Yotam Frid
Graphics by Mati & Itamar Ernst
Music taken from Newgrounds' audio portal - http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/515480

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Fun(Jam)4.14
#14Overall(Jam)4.04
#20Mood(Jam)4.02
#26Graphics(Jam)4.40
#45Humor(Jam)3.46
#52Audio(Jam)3.80
#360Innovation(Jam)2.68
#429Theme(Jam)2.76

Comments

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Liked it, fun little game, wish I had more time to play right now :/

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

omg, this game is awesome! I love the art and color scheme! Lots of details all around the village. I see there's a cameo of a little known soap bar in the game too ;)

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Fantastic, really enjoyed it. The jump for the underground feather was a bit too precise given the ease of the rest of the game. Loved the visuals and smooth platforming.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very pretty. Maybe I wish there was a bit more to it than collecting stuff scattered around, but hey, this is nonviolent and humble and cute so that's okay!

Patacorow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Thanks everybody! And Fabien, we went for the 'collection' gameplay because we believed it would be minimalistic. :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

It's very very good I sincerely hope that you'll make more of this !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Very well done game! Very solid overall, the controls were good, the music, sounds were nice, the world, characters were funny and interesting.

The only thing I didn't like were couple of very precise jumps needed to get some feathers like the one underground. but other than that, this game was awesome!

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

It was a fun game, but not very minimal

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I really liked the mood in this one. It felt like playing a jolly level in an early Spyro game.

galman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Excellent game! I love it! It's fun, amazing graphics, lovely music and the mood is great. 5/5 :D I read all the dialogs, I found some weird bugs(passed through walls) and talked to Alfred the dog :)

BTW, why don't join our indies meetup group? KSindies https://www.facebook.com/groups/506477189378067/

Patacorow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Thanks man! Means a lot to us. Good luck with your game, it's great!

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I must say, this is probably one of my favorite entries yet! The graphics and sound have a quirky feel to them, and the stage is well designed for the most part. The only real problem I see is that it doesn't fit the theme well...

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Love this game :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

Absolutely fantastic! From the first seconds onwards, I had a smirk on my face and I really wanted to explore around. This is a game I will definitely come back to!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56am

This is so charming! You did an amazing job at the graphics. Still, even though it was fun to go around the town the fetching quests never appealed to me.

erdos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

lol "We've been raising potatoes in this plot for years!"
Really nice little game, graphics/music/mechanics are all really nice. I like the little interactions you have with the inhabitants!

Aceria says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

Aww, that's adorable. I love the random people saying things.

BIRDS! :D

Not particularly 'minimalism' though... But then again, this is a game jam and so everything is going to be fairly minimal - it's not your fault that the theme wasn't much to work with!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Wow, absolutely amazing, I love it. My favourite game so far on this edition. You did a great job! I just wish it was longer.

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Fun game, although I'm not sure how it fits the theme. The controls could need some work, the jump isn't very precise. The flying part feels great though.

Patacorow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38pm

For anyone wondering about the theme, we went for a minimalistic story, characters and design. Sorry we couldn't do it right :P

soerensen3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

wow! amazing game. and it fits the theme i think with it's gameboy graphics and sound quite well!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Fun game :D

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15am

Absolutely adorkable, I love the atmosphere this entry has, and the dialogue is quite humorous. The song is ridiculously catchy (I don't even care if it's fakebit, that's an awesome composition asdlkgjdflkgh)

The theme definitely worked for simplicity, and I loved the direction you went with it. Amazing job with this Jam entry, this is getting a high score from me. Hope you consider polishing it up post-compo!

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59am

Really great graphical style and atmosphere. The platformer physics were fun too. I only managed to find 9 feathers though...

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:53am

Great graphics and gameplay I enjoyed all way!

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08am

The only problem with this game is that there isn't more of it. Love the NPC banter. :3

May 1, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Very pretty and funny, i like it the sounds the graphics, the gameplay GOOD JOB!

Adipson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:31am

very funny congratulations !

Pierrec says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:38am

OooOooOoohh this game just feels so good!
I whish I had it on my gameboy as a kid
It's just a simple platformer but...I don't know...it just works!
I can't find the last feather though...I guess I'll never fly :(

Dew says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:49am

Lovely Art!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:49am

I'm impressed :) The game looks gorgeous, is very simple yet satisfying to control, and put me in a good mood as it's so super-fluffy and colorful :) It's not super innovative and the King should be more accessible to prevent any pointless roaming, but that's nitpicking.

IceCliff says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:20am

I wasn't too much of a fan of the graphics tbh, that was what lost me. The gameplay was pretty decent!

Patacorow says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:41am

@Pierrec try looking on top of houses and underground ;)

imagnity says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:42am

A true 5-star entry. Really enjoyed this one. Bravo! :)

Patacorow says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Thank you so much!!

MartianWatts says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:29am

I love it! Mainly the art, good job

Floko says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice graphics and good pacing. Great job =]

drkrunk says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Pretty fun! I liked it.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:31am

Cute game

lotusgame says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:12pm

What a cute game ! I like every aspect ! The only criticism I can make is that the game is too short.. I want more :)

kibertoad says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Little birdies and bench on a cloud were impressive little details. Overall, nicely polished entry that is enjoyable and has great atmosphere. Thumbs up!

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Great game ... Give us more levels :D

OrangeeZ says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Simply wonderful.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Yay! :D Cute and fun!

Mago says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Just amazing. I don't know where to start. Graphics and music are excelent but the best thing is the feeling of clear joy and fun while you play this game. Great job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:04am

Well... really nice and cute game...and welle polished too...but not in the theme.

Madball says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:27am

Great! The game is very detailed. I think you can extend it.

KEFIR says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Really nice little classic platformer! Somehow it reminds me "Mickey's Safari in Letterland" from NES. Really good job! Not really fits the theme IMO, but it doesn't make this awsome game any worse :)

klianc09 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

The last digit of PI is BAWK!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]