April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dooberflop

by jellonator - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-STORY-
You are being attacked by strange pixely things!
Being the ravishing minimalist you are, you grab your shield!
And so you head onwards, to victory!

-MUSIC-
It's not perfect, but I did spent some time on it.
This is the first time I have ever made music. so please tell me how I can improve on that aspect. I would also ask of you how I could improve my art, but that is a lost cause by now.

-THINGS NOT MENTIONED INGAME-
-You regenerate health every 10,000 points!
-You stop regenerating at about 110,000 points or so.
-The background IS your health bar.
-You can pause with the P button!
-There is a semi-easter egg for getting 50,000 points
-Holding left click will lock the shield!

-PLATFORMS-
-Windows: 9MB, Everything comes packed neatly in the windows version. Just run 'run.bat' and it should work.
-Linux: 7MB, if Love2D is not installed, then run quickInstallLove.sh before running the game.
-Mac: 18MB, I don't have a mac, but I assume everything is there.
-Source: 7MB, The source .love is just a renamed .zip, make sure to install Love2d, otherwise you can't run it.

-JLLE-
This is the first game I have made with JLLE, Jello's Lua Love2D Engine. It is still in development so don't use it.
-MORE INFO-
This game was made in 48 hours, with Lua Love2D.
There is some commented-out code in main.lua and JLLE/Sys/Update.lua that allows for fullscreen play. Don't do it, it looks crappy.
Amazingly, no alcohol was involved in the making of this.
I took frequent breaks listening to ERB and dummeh.
You can get Love2d at http://www.love2d.org/

-COPYRIGHT STUFF-
Copyright C Jellonator
I would use a circle C thing but that adds a random  for whatever reason see look: ©
http://www.pixel3.bplaced.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Since everything is pointed with a rainbow of colors, it can be hard to notice the bullets and spikes coming at you. Otherwise, good controls, and the music was fun!

jellonator says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

@Baknik, dang it, I spent at least 2 hours fine-tuning things to be more visible.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

Definitely a good job on the music for your first time composing stuff. I played until the potato! The instructions in the beginning roll by a little too fast for me.

P.S. Your windows and mac builds could be improved. Tweet me if you'd like details. :)

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15am

I liked the music, it seemed really well done (I usually just coward out and make a game without music).

leafo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13am

Cool music. I also like the colorful graphics. The game got a bit boring after playing for a while though! It didn't seem like it was getting harder.

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:18am

Did you update this? My session didn't look like your screenshots. Fun game. I don't think that mouse controls work all to well for a rotational system, especially where the player moves. I could have my mouse in an "up" position, but then jump, lowering my shield in a way that makes me vulnerable. Given the small set of obstacles, I was expecting to get tired quickly, but the difficulty ramps up at an appropriate pace. Maybe could afford to be a bit faster? Good work.

jellonator says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Every other Ludum Dare, everyone said my games were too hard(they were right) So this Ludum Dare I tried making it a tad bit more casual.

Uhfgood says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:59am

Wow that was the most annoying thing I've ever played. Well done!

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Fun as hell! Super trippy!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]