Ludum Dare 36
Coming August 26th-29th Weekend

Suggest a theme!
Theme suggestions for LD36 now open

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

llab

by tonic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control with LEFT and RIGHT arrow keys (or use controller thumbstick).

A fun fact: The weird menu music is made by sort-of-beatboxing into a voice-changing toy megaphone, and then editing slightly with Audacity.

Playthrough video: http://youtu.be/HNmjryqSS-w

PS. There is also a sort of easter egg (a place you wouldn't normally see). Tell me in the comment section if you find it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#281Fun3.30
#369Overall3.36
#525Theme3.57
#547Graphics3.04
#650Innovation3.00
#662Audio2.52
#816Mood2.62
#839Humor1.86

Comments

Taro Omiya says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

Excellent game! Love it! Very innovative.

Kinda wished there are checkpoints where you fall out, but otherwise, greatly enjoyed it.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Lot of fun. Checkpoints would have been nice, because I probably spent way too long trying to beat it.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Can be a bit tricky when you seem to be "stuck" at a certain bounce level - but hot-damn - good work fo' LD!

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Fun entry! It really is a balancing act to get through some sections.

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Excellent work. This makes me want to break out the NES and play some Marble Madness.

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Nice game. Really enjoyed the simple mechanic. One improvement I'd suggest would be a way to show the balls 'spin'.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Oddly addicting

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Super frustrating that you go all the way back to the start when you fail. The ball movement feel is super nice though (played with xbox controller). Audio is different in a good way.

CptBubbles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Really simple but fun! Checkpoints would be nice and there are a few flickering textures here and there, but overall : awesome game.

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Loved it. Simple, short, but very fun. Would play more levels just for the feel of bouncing around. Add some particle effects and cool backgrounds and yeah, a cute game in the works.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I found this very hard to control and frustrating. That said it was interesting. I didn't get the green blocks were springs.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

dafq, I meant At first I didn't get the green blocks were springs.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

This game becomes fiendishly difficult...but that's not necessarily bad. :)

I love your use of lightmapping/ambient occlusion. Good sense of physicality.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Loved it but too hard for my skills

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Great physic game, i love it. I would like some checkpoint because i'm really bad ;) Great game !

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Nice. +1 checkpoints!

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

very fun
great use of physics and nice graphics !

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Really liked the use of Metroid-style backtracking at the beginning. Very effective means of teaching me what the green blocks do. Really liked your use of minimal lighting to indicate where I should aim myself.

Maddeningly difficult in a very good way, though I do agree with the sentiment that checkpoints would have been helpful. I would have definitely played it to completion with them!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Thanks for all the comments!

About checkpoints: I was thinking of them when developing, but since I only have this one level, I thought maybe I won't add checkpoints to make it a bit more challenging. But, I guess there should be 1 or 2 checkpoints, so that it wouldn't be frustrating to go through the same start again. :)

PS. Did anyone find the sort-of-easter-egg location? :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very awesome keeps you on edge.. Good game..

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Controlling the ball is all cool, except when it is either accelerated or bouncing high. Feels odd to keep on fine controlling it.

Also, I feel sad when you get into a pit and have to go all the way back. Overall very fun experience!

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Fun game, I like the mechanics a lot and its simplicity.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Nice but having to restart from the beginning is a bit annoying!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

This is a great game, looks stunning, and actually really fun to play. It's a bit frustrating though.

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

this game is great! but please add checkpoints...

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Great game!! Very innovative and addictive :)
I believe that a well done bouncing ball could help to solve some challenges.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Hard to tame that bounce at times, as it should be I guess, feels good trying to game the system though and just bounce-breeze through it.

Nice choice of colors.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Amazing. Frustrating. Love the lighting.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19am

Very nice game. The first time I see a platformer without jump button :) The game gets really difficult once you can die.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

You pulled off the simple style well with some nice lighting, and gameplay is quite unique! I think you could have benefited from having damp walls - walls which don't cause you to bounce back - in certain spots where you need to fit through tight spaces, and there was one part in particular where I got stuck a few times because my bounce height got messed up. A trampoline or an easier method of self-destruction (such as a large pit to fall down) may have helped! Still you made a fun game that's on theme - nice one =]

attagcatc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58am

Cool game. I felt that the bouncing off side walls had a bit too much force, which led to loss of control.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17am

Thanks to everybody for comments and feedback. Much appreciated!

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

A good example of the equation simple = fun

wzl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Cute game! It felt a bit too bouncy and checkpoints would be nice. Kinda got frustrated always falling out in the same place.
Would love to see a graphical makeover. Great use of light though!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20pm

This game NEEDS checkpoints. But yeah, really cool! And I kept playing it even though I had to restart a few times to win. Good job!

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Bit hard. I like minimal controls, but I don't like having minimal control -- I felt like I was fighting the ball more than controlling it. Otherwise good.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

That's tricky but when we're in control it's really fun !

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I did not find the easter egg. :'-(

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05pm

really liked it, up until I died and had to start from the very beginning, it's hard to justify to myself to keep playing when a game is that cruel :P

Badger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:42am

У

Rialgar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Very short and simple, I like that. I could imagine a ton of levels utilizing only the mechanics you showed allready. Some sort of "Sonic the Hedgehog" - like rolling with these ramps for example. Great!

Hopps says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Very simple (fits the theme obviously) but great game. I would have loved to have checkpoints though.

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:43am

Fun game. I wish the camera was pulled back just a bit. Seemed too close at times.

klianc09 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:23pm

If you mean by easter-egg location, that small block with a wall floating to the left of the beginning, then yes, I found it. Really liked the physics in this one and the music was really refreshing.

siondream says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:26am

Minimalistic and it delivers, good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Fantastic game! The mechanics are so simple and work so perfectly!

iamorim says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Only missed a checkpoint system. I had a lot of fun playing it ^_^

Split82 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Very interesting concept, but very hard (playing on keyboard)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:15am

kinda cool -- interesting concept -- nice effort!

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice game.
I think I completed it. Unity doesn't seem to render fonts for me on Linux so all the buttons are blank.
Think I found your hidden area too.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:20am

We won. Good game.

Sebastian says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Pretty tough, but lots of fun to play around with.

messiano says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Nice game, but somehow I got some bizarre acellerations.

Colapsydo says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I like being a bouncing ball.

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Fun entry, just a bit frustrating falling to your death with no checkpoints as others have pointed out. :P

Erunaamo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very neat idea. To me it feels like it needs more tuning to be truly fun: it's hard to steer where I want to go. Part of that is the fun frustrating challenge of a tough unforgiving game, but part of it is...just plain hard to steer. Also bouncing off corners of things seems to change your energy unpredictably.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]