April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Runaway Money

by Jonny D - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A party game for up to 4 players. Run around as invisible thieves, trying to get the most money back to your van. The minimalism theme inspired the benefit of carrying nothing in this game (being invisible).

Notes: Be sure to set up your controls before you start! Joystick recommended. Hold your STEAL button for a hint about where you are (be careful, others see it too!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#438Fun3.11
#505Humor2.30
#653Overall3.08
#782Innovation2.84
#883Graphics2.62
#985Audio1.86
#1011Mood2.39
#1117Theme2.87

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Good stuff

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

A bit short but great, enjoyed it quite a bit!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I love the way you assign buttons :D It is a little hard to see youself in stealthmode, but it works ;)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

That's a fun game !

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

It was a lot of fun, Well done!

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Fun concept and execution. Good job!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice game! I like the concept!

64Mega says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30pm

That was pretty fun, and the multiplayer is great! The invisibility made it difficult to determine how fast you were walking, but once I'd picked up a sack of money, I got a good idea of the speed.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice little design. Wish I had a friend to play this with.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13pm

I enjoyed this game a lot! Very funny well done!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Sadly I just get a white screen and then I need to crash it by myself. :( (Win XP, 32-bit)

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:53pm

so fun

yellowlemming says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

it can be very difficult to see where you are when invisible but otherwise a solid game and being forced to set controls was a very good idea

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Quite nice, that has to be the most minimalist stealth game ever! Had trouble finding out how to see my steps at first but then it went better.

As others, wish I had someone to test this with. Ah the perils of doing a multiplayer game for LD.. :)

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

It was a nice concept really. But I was confused why you had such an elaborate maze when only a portion is used. There should have been more obstacles.

Jonny D says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Thanks! The game is meant to be for multiple players. This level is the same no matter how many players there are. Try it with 4 players and you'll see why it is set up that way.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:13am

Very nice! Played with my roommate. We had a fun :)

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:00am

Well rounded entry complete with assignable controls nicely done. Like the smooth UI overall. Game itself reminded me a lot of this years "Dollar Dash" but with the unique invisibility twist.
Bonus for real game development (C++) :-)

Prudiiarca says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:19pm

cool. nothing else to say. great idea!

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Was really nice, although I could just choose to not drop off a bag of money to show me where I was, I think you should change it so that it drops all the money off at once. Otherwise sweet game!

mortl8324 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:46am

Pretty interesting game. Hard!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:13am

Pretty fun game although I found the challenge a little frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]