April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Door

by hockeygoalie5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created in Java using Slick and LWJGL. Maps created with Tiled. Sounds generated by Bfxr.

- Use W, A, S, and D to move
- Reach the rainbow block at the end of the maze
- Gray blocks are through which you can not pass
- Colored and white blocks allow you to pass if you are of the same color
- Use splotches of paint to change your color
- Combine primary colors into secondary colors
- Water (light blue puddle) clears your color to white
- Potato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#352Innovation3.39
#496Fun3.05
#584Mood2.84
#598Audio2.64
#619Overall3.11
#863Humor1.83
#912Theme3.16
#993Graphics2.47

Comments

Logster897 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Very Cool Game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Sadly I can't download your game. There seem to be some server problems?

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

The controls are a bit too sensitive as I seem to always overshoot the block I want to go through. Otherwise, cool concept for a puzzle game.

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

@SuperlevelSebastion
Are you Belgian? They have problems with connecting to HostGator, for some reason. Here's a mirror: http://www.mediafire.com/?c1q4908195yuxkn

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

@hockeygoalie5:
Nope, I'm German. :) The mediafire-mirror worked, thank you!

Some little comment about your game: I liked the mixture-mechanics, but I experienced the whole game itself as too slow.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very nice music and awesome original concept! This game was really fun and the only problem was the graphics

Hamumu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I won! That was surprisingly easy. The player could've used an outline so you don't lose him when he's crossing the color blocks (since by definition he's going to be exactly their color when he crosses them!). It was interesting, and possibly unintended, how several levels didn't require you to use most of the stuff on them to get to the end.

Blinked says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Really cool idea! Very original and the music is good as well.

lytedev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Controls were a bit annoying and I got stuck on one level and had to restart the entire thing. Other than that, I really like the idea and had a lot of fun playing!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

You have a good mechanic here. I think you've demonstrated that it could be built into a fun game and you've got the raw material here to achieve that.

I loved the color mixing but I found the puzzles to be pretty obvious and uninteresting. I think it's the fault of the puzzle design, not the game mechanic. In this case, I found that there was a pretty obvious path through the maze and I just had to keep running and splashing through whatever I happened to encounter.... not a lot of thought required.

Reducing the number of wash stations would force me to plan my moves better. It would be fine if I got stuck as long as you gave me a way to reset. I saw some areas with so many colored exists that it looked like you were just trying to make it impossible to be stuck. That's kind of you... but not very mentally taxing on me.

As you flesh out this game, consider playing with patterns in additions to colors... maybe there are red and blue striped doors. Maybe the side of me that gets colored by the puddle depends on the direction I run into it. There are opportunities in your mechanic to gradually introduce a lot more variety in your levels.

Also, music and sound need attention. The music was dreary and there really wasn't sound. And, it took me a while to realize I had won the game. You could score me on time and display a win screen but I think it would be more interesting to score me on the number of times I washed off.

Hope this comment is helpful. You did well. I enjoyed your game. You're on the short list of games that I've beat for this compo.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Really nice puzzle mechanics, this could be taken and explored a lot more deeply. I got quite far but couldn't restart a level when I got stuck. Maybe consider adding a restart button?

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Enjoyed it! Nice mechanic.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I had some problems with that fast reacting controls... but after a few minutes of training i enjoyed playing this game!

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Very nice! Only note is that the "white" doorways were VERY hard to differentiate from standard walls on my laptop, to where I thought there were a couple of "kill rooms" you could enter and couldn't leave. I could have used a bit more "noise" in the walls to contrast the white rooms.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Good concept, I keep playing color mixing games despite some colorblindness, but I found the colors you used(or maybe their texture) made it possible to play, also it seemed that you made it impossible to get stuck, so it took a lot of thought away from the color mixing.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

i liked it.. got me thinking a little bit.. would of liked to see some harder levels but obv with time and everything ..good job man :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Fun game. Good mechanic.

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Interesting, the music sets a nice mood.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I like the game idea, and I think I saw the idea on 1GAM once, its nice :P. An idea would be implementing score to see how little color combos you can make

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

Great job, the color mechanic makes for some great levels! You are wayyy better than me at making levels. My only criticism is that the white doors look too much like the grey walls.

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Very nice game. The only problem was the lack of a restart button.

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

small download problems. cool idea and great gameplay. the player moves a lil bit fast though

tompudding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Original game mechanic. Sometimes it was tricky to get through doorways, but it was fairly enjoyable. Good job

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Had to look a few times to see if I won. Suspected a gameplay shift. ;)

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Very nice. A little slow, but very enjoyable. Excellent interpretation of the theme.

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46am

Excellent little puzzle game. My only issue was that the ending screen could be a little more obvious - maybe I'm just an idiot, but it took me a moment to realize the tiles were spelling out the word "WIN." XD

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Pretty nice and original concept. I did play a game before this one about switching to colours but this one included mixing and the puzzles were pretty decent. Nice one!

TenTonToon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:55am

Cool idea and a good take on the theme. But I think there's a vast potential left untapped, mainly due to level design.

See, the main mechanic is really interesting, but it's never put to good use. The puzzles are actually about the right sequence, not the right mix of colors. And the right sequence is always pretty obvious.

Controls should be a little tighter, too. The character should move a little bit slower - this is a puzzle game, so there's no rush :)

Finally, I had some trouble seeing the white blocks. Maybe you could make the wall blocks somewhat darker in tone.

All in all, a good idea with huge potential for mind-boggling puzzles. I had thought about this same color-mixing concept for my own game, but I tossed it aside, painting it (oops!) as too uninteresting. You proved me truly wrong.

Congratulations! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]