April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal

by GingerMess - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimal is a very simple 2D physics challenge, consisting of 9 levels that will test your patience, precision and problem solving.
Or at least that's the theory. I made this thing and level 8 makes me rage.

Which Distribution?

Windows: either of the Windows builds (they're the same). Just extract and run!
Linux: the Java 7 executable .jar. This was tested in Ubuntu 12.10 using OpenJDK 7 i386 and it ran very well.
Mac: ...if you really want it let me know (Twitter @GingerMess) and I'll see if I can repackage it with a nightly of libGDX. The .jar linked above simply won't work with Mac Java. :(

Instructions:
-Left mouse drag on white objects to move them around.
-'R' will reset a level if the physics engine decides to throw a fit.
-The physics engine will need to settle before allowing a level completion, but you can help it by using the mouse-drag as an anchor to reduce motion. Use it!

Tools used:
-Java 7
-IntelliJ Community Edition
-Eclipse (Juno)
-Paint.NET
-SFXR
-Launch4j

Libraries used:
-libGDX
-RestyGWT
-GWT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#173Fun3.48
#260Overall3.48
#393Theme3.70
#510Innovation3.18
#662Audio2.52
#668Mood2.76
#853Graphics2.66

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

For me it hangs up after the second level (Win XP, .jar-version). But sweet beginning! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Just another comment: The build itself works perfect! Just the .jar is crappy, haha. Sweet puzzles! Thank you!

De10ter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

Fun physics puzzle game.
I was feeling pretty clever until I got to the level with 2 targets, 2 fixed triangles, 2 rects and 2 squares, just can't figure that one out :/
Uh, just noticed before I committed this comment and shut down the game, the pieces on that level can fly out of bounds.

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

The executable jar didn't start the game for me (32bit Linux Mint 12).

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

De10ter: yeah it happens occasionally. Press 'R' to reset the level as that's the only way you'll get the pieces back. :)

kddekadenz: do you have JRE 7 installed? A colleague of mine got it working straight off in his linux install. Were any errors thrown? If you run it by typing:

java -jar Minimal.jar

you should see any error output in the console.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Enjoyed it. Reminds me of a lot of ammobile/flash physic games :)

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Great game! I solved only the first four levels, but it is unbelievable how complex physics you made in only three days. It is fun too.

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Couldn't figure out the level with the 3 long ones and the two boxes >_< But I love 2D physics so its cool♪

jhonpi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Yeah, it test my patience. Good use of theme.

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Qaterknan: libgGDX (game framework) provides a JNI wrapper around Box2D, a 2D physics engine, right out of the box. Combined with some prior knowledge of Box2D it's almost too easy to set up a simple simulation. The trick is of course to make a game out of it, something that I hope you lot enjoy!

bernhard: the long ones stand on their own if you get the balance juuust right.. ;)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22pm

First off, WOW for physics in two days!!! Secondly, it was definitely very fun (and challenging!). I got stuck on the level with the really long sticks, but that was because I couldn't figure it out, not because the game was wrong :D

jadams says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice idea for a physics puzzler. Things got a bit tricky to set up, on some levels my elaborate structures got tired and went for a lie down.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:35am

This was pretty cool, but I got into some situations where the physics would never stabilze.

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:42am

NYERGH

And I thought it'd be easy...

I got held up on the one with the three stick and the small triangle.

GingerMess says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:43am

KHANanaphone: yeah that can happen. Hold down one of the bodies with the mouse but don't drag at all, it'll act like an anchor and assist with stabilisation. The perils of circles!

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:00am

I like this one a lot. Despite being minimal, the physics really gives it depth and a natural feel as well. I think the physics and mass controls work very well! It took me a second to figure out how to start, but I loved the title screen :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:09am

This entry is awesome, I was confused at first at what to do after the Minimal level, but once I checked on what you said about waiting for the physics to settle, I was good. So maybe add some sort of countdown... The sound effects are great, I just wish you had some other background music.

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Really nice physics puzzler. Despite the minimal graphics, the puzzles are really well done.

Zccc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice, great game!

May 11, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Couldn't load next level, no filename given?

PaulSB says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Cool little stacking game! I liked the title screen being the first level. Fun!

Jiddo says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Runs flawlessly for me on Linux. I love physics puzzle/sandbox thingies. This one is no exception. The physics simulation felt solid and the levels were well thought through. Great work!

ee3509 says ...
Dec 12, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Well done Richard !

Very good entry, and fun physics game !

Best of luck, Panos

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]