April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

This Place

by Felix20 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare entry. This time went a lot better than last time.

The game-play is essentially a sokoban clone, Most of the work was done on the art, music and what you might call the story.

All the graphics were created from scratch using GIMP. The music was created with pxtone, and the sound effects were created in sfxr. Audacity was used to convert .wavs to .mp3s and to record the paper sound.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move
R restarts the level (hold down V and push R to reset the game)
Space switches between "Page" mode and "Game" mode.
Space advances the help text.

There's also a (slightly) secret key (It's one of the keys that are used in-game) that does something before the title screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#309Mood3.19
#357Audio3.03
#408Graphics3.25
#434Fun3.12
#571Theme3.52
#576Overall3.15
#603Humor2.17
#1110Innovation2.26

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:39am

great game bro

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Nice one ! Reminds me sokoban :)

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Good game. Love to see puzzles in LD. Graphics fit in the theme.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

So... I finished the first level, and it said I got a new page -- I hit space, saw a slightly different version of the first page -- and then nothing. If I hit space again, back into the first level. Looks like you have more than 1 level and more art -- I must be doing something wrong?

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

The slightly different part is an arrow (it's supposed to look like a folded page), click on it to see the next page.
After you see the new page you can do the next level.
I guess the disadvantage of minimalism is it's hard to understand. :P

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16am

The minimalist graphics are very nice :)

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Great game! Nice graphics and levels was excellent, fun with the pages! good job.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Good puzzle (it's look like adventure of lolo/eggerland mystery)

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I love games like this - that´s my excuse for rating this high :D

bentog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Good game, but I didn't understand how to get to the 2nd level.

Felix20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Thanks for all the nice comments, glad you enjoyed it!

bentog: yeah, that could have used a bit more explanation, see my previous post up there /\

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:21pm

shouldn't be possible for a game this simple (I mean, move squares on to circles...) to require this much thought and be this fun. Apparently it is :P

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26pm

A good minimalist puzzler!

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I like the mechanics, and I REALLY like the aesthetic qualities. The music is great, if a bit repetitive. My biggest complaint is that the puzzles were never really "hard". the solution was almost always exactly what it looked like at the beginning. It got most interesting when you had to do things in the right order, but since there was usually one obvious way to use a block that mostly came down to trial and error. I think what it really needs is for there to be multiple valid appearing paths for each block with access to different (sometimes incorrect) solution placements.

The page system was interesting, if a bit difficult to wrap my head around at first.

Good start, and well polished!

May 4, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Good Game. It is a very hard, but i like it.

angelk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:38pm

The puzzeling was good. For some reason I had a lot of trouble with performance; it got me into a lot of trouble when one of my blocks got pushed just a little too far.

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:11am

Notes:

- Another sokoban.
- Entry theme isn't bad.
- I got a new page. What changed? Added a circle thing with dots? Or is was it that thing in the top-left?
- Is that it? Is there an exit?
- The walk animation is funny. What is the character supposed to be?
- Oh, you click on the arrow-like things on the page mode to go to the next level. Did I miss that in the help text?
- It is not mentioned on the entry page, at least.
- Can't go that way, paper guy.
- Next few pages. He looks frightened.
- This level is going to be tedious. Ah, wasn't bad.
- IS THAT A POTATO?
- There is an arrow in this heart. This is going to be a tough one; I can feel it already.
- Ah, wasn't that bad. Lot of clear space in this next one.
- Another person! A child?
- "That is all". Child riding on back of paper guy?
- Haven't been too annoyed by the music yet.

Things I would change:

- Mute the music when the game is paused.
- Make the arrow buttons on the page mode more obvious.
- Make left and right arrow keys turn-page left and right.

Felix20 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:22am

Many thanks for all the feedback. I really appreciate it.

About the page turning: The arrow things were supposed to look like a piece of paper with the corners folded in. In retrospect a simple arrow would have served the purpose much better.
Also a bit of text to tell you how to turn pages probably would have helped.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]