April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hito

by lucas_gaspar - Jam Entry

Hito is a Game submited for the Ludum Dare Jam of 2013 under the voted condition: "Minimalism". It was created as the first project of an emerging team of 6 members in which, for this project, all our staff apported diferent views to design a new, simplistic adventure.
Even though we consider Hito to be a complete game at the time of its release for the Ludum Dare Jam, we'll continue to add features and improve its ambient and mechanics to further enhance the experience.

Controls:
Arrowkeys to move
Space/UpArrow to jump
R to restart level
Esc to return to main menu

This is just the birth of "Hito", We are going to keep developing the game and adding new content, if you want to be informed about it like us on facebook! :)
http://www.facebook.com/HitoGame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#59Audio(Jam)3.75
#132Overall(Jam)3.50
#138Graphics(Jam)3.72
#138Mood(Jam)3.40
#187Fun(Jam)3.12
#290Innovation(Jam)2.91
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#329Theme(Jam)3.14

Comments

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37am

Lovely music and visuals.

You should've added a "how to" screen explaining the controls (especially noting the availability of double jumping) and the goal of the game (destroying blocks = opening doors isn't so obvious at the beginning).

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40am

Very fun game! Also, the ninja animation is awesome. The sleep deprivation made me unable to finish the fourth level, so I'll

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice work, the music and art direction work really well together with the simple game mechanic. I agree with Spierek though, you should make the objective a bit more obvious.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I absolutely LOVED the runner's animation. It was so sharp and fluid and fantastic! It fit very well with the music, making me think of an Eastern rice paper painting.

Unfortunately, the rest of the game's graphics don't compliment that art style. The super-pixelated backgrounds and the tile-based blocks you're running on conflict with the runner's style. I wish it all would have kept that beautiful, bold look that the runner presents.

As for the gameplay, having to run over all platforms to get to the exit is a neat idea. However, I felt that there was a pretty big difficulty spike that made the game frustrating and took the fun out of the idea. It became too much about trying again and again and again to touch just the right blocks at the right time, only to fail and have to do it all over.

Lots of potential here, but the game needs the wrinkles ironed out. Still, if you focus on that sharp, smoothly-animated runner graphics style, keep the great Eastern music, and plan your puzzles to be less frustrating, it could be really great!

Kitch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

Very nice work. neat little concept and the art and audio worked well together.

Nameman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:49am

We are very thankful for your opinions and will keep on working on this proyect to improve the whole experience. We really apreciate the comunity's insight, plus we are aware that a great product is not only created, but re-created time and time again with the hope of reaching new heights with each new delivery. Plus, we know that, at least here, everyone understands what "working for a deadline" means.
We have opened a Facebook page for the game so, if you want to keep in touch and see the project grow, be sure to like us @facebook.com/HitoGame

Jaime Name - Team Manager/Writer.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:02am

Very cool music and graphic design. The game got a little frustrating having to repeat such long sequences of jumps - maybe I just suck at it. Very cool idea; I love his flowing sash.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:05am

Wow. Excellent audiovisuals, guys. That zoom out upon level completion really sealed the deal for me.

One thing: I wasn't sure why touching the top of the picture frame killed me. It was a little awkward to try jumping when on the upper parts of the screen in fear of it. But aside from that, everything was great gameplay-wise.

Would love to see where you guys eventually take this title!

May 1, 2013 @ 7:17am

The visuals and sound were excellent (the animation in particular). The mechanic was clever and became difficult very quickly. There was a moment in level 2 where I created my own platforms to double-back on that I thought, if intentionally designed or not, was a fun and challenging experience. Glad to see you guys are going to continue working on it in the future, and good luck!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:29am

Very nice animations and fun gameplay. The jumps are too low though, meaning that it's quite frustrating to get a jump right.

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33am

Great game. Gets quite challenging after the first 'world'. Great work.

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:51am

I really enjoyed this one. The graphics and animation were very cute, the music was great, and I really liked the zen-like mechanic; meticulously running over every block. And challenging. Very nice game!

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Loved the ninja (??) animation. Good job.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Very awesome game. I liked everything about it. The music, the animations, the gameplay. It was great. I could see this becoming a successful game. Good work!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Good presentation. Game involves a bit too much trial and error and is a bit repetitive but otherwise fun. I played for a few screens but you really need to introduce new elements each level to keep players interested.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Great Mood, Great Theme! I love how the rocks don't tremble until you leave making it a much more thought provoking experience. However, it was too hard after a certain level. I spent a lot of time figuring it out, and almost won but after a short mistake and having to start all over again was too frustrating- I'd suggest to have some sort of save/load or checkpoint system. This is the kind of game that would be on phone, with short levels so that the player can always keep coming back on the hard levels

Nameman says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Once again, thanks for all the feedback, guys. Many of the suggestions that you've presented are already being worked on for the game (such as the new elements/mechanics to keep the players invested and we're considering some sort of time-trial or score sistem). We are finding ways to teach the player it's goals and capacities in an organic way that feels not like a tutorial (I, personally, find tutorials a little condescending... but that's just me, so I've got to run it by the team) and we'll have a meeting to see how we can integrate new modes or posibilities without sacrificing the whole mood and feelig.
Still, I want to thank you all on behalf of the whole team and invite you to follow us on Facebook.com/hitogame; we're bilingual so feel free to comment in english or spanish.

Jaime Name - Team Manager/Writer.

mipi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

audio is superb great, also graphics are nice, animations are really great. Nice puzzle gameplay, but the levels were maybe too long if I made an error. I got stuck to the second level. Maybe the difficulty got too high too fast. And these kind of puzzle games require a lot of time to think and it's not something a lot of LD judges are willing to do when the goal is to rate a lot of entries. That's really a bit shame for every good puzzle game in here.

Dmitrix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:38am

Interesting. I kinda like the desert/middle eastern theme you have going on there. I don't really like how it's made in Unity though, but whatever. :P

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:10am

Very nice game, was mostly relaxing (except for the two levels that drove me crazy with how often I had to repeat them due to minor slip-ups--especially the final level. Having the level zoom out to reveal the kanji was really cool (not sure if every level made one, I only realized that on the final one). Looked great, music was perfect. Awesome stuff.

Catman says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:09am

Cool game, liked the music and the animation especially. The words on the top distracted me, though, I guess you could use another font! :)

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:50am

Really nice :) The first two were quite hard and then the third one was really easy :P Really fun.

TijmenTio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Really fits the theme well! I personally enjoyed the player's animation a lot too :)

hissssssssss says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I love games that convey movement like this. I wish that the jump would be just a little higher, though, so there wasn't as much jumping and hitting the edges of platforms, only to fall down and die.
The difficulty of this game should come from bad planning, not from failing jumps that seem perfectly reachable.

dick_claus says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:51am

Thumbs up! Enjoyed playing.

GameNacho says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:42am

Good game, great graphics, and I liked the mechanic! Good job overall!

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:57pm

That was great. Lovely music and artwork and cool mechanic.
The levels were a bit frustrating though. I often destroyed the brick I was trying to land on. Also it seems you can still jump for a bit after dropping off a block.
Almost gave up on the final level but got there eventually after many, many tries.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Very good game! Maybe the levels are a bit too long, making each failure too frustrating. Loved the graphics and music... good job!

May 12, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Cool idea, but needs some work. It's a bit too hard in the beginning, I kept on dying in level 3 until I quit... That may be because I'm a stupid noob, but I guess many others are, too !!! :)

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Glad to know you plan to keep working on this. gonna keep my eye on it.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Nice :)

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Really nice art. Well done. :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Nice animation and music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]