April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Quest for Minimalism

by Arkazon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fairly straightforward puzzle-platformer.

Bob the bloke with the silly hat and a sack of potatoes is a bit of a minimalist and wants to just sit there and eat his potatoes in peace. Unfortunately there are a load of pesky levels with platforms, mesh things, bridges, boxes and other stuff preventing him from finding happiness.

Luckily there are some handy magic levers of handiness +3 to help out. Activate the levers to remove parts of the level and make bob happy, activate all the levers on a level to proceed to the next level.

Controls:

WASD/Arrow keys : Move around (up or down only work when on climbing meshes).
Space : Activate a lever / Start the game.
ESC/R : Reset the current level (you'll need to do this so remember the button!).
+/- : Cheat like a cheating person and jump between levels using a debug feature that I figured was probably worth leaving in.

Game uses WebGL so you'll need a browser that supports it (I'm looking at you, Internet Explorer). I suggest using Chrome since that's what I tested it in but most non-Microsoft browsers support WebGL these days so take your pick.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#310Fun3.26
#364Humor2.54
#596Overall3.13
#699Innovation2.95
#810Theme3.28
#952Mood2.47
#1073Audio1.33
#1116Graphics2.28

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14am

Very nice idea, I think this could be a good game with some more work put into it.

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

_VERY_ nice puzzler!

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Simple, yet interesting. Pretty good game :)

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice puzzele-platform game, although, a little easy

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Very nice, interesting puzzles, and an excelent take on the theme!

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25am

Nice little puzzle game. It wasn't really minimalistic though. I crashed when completing one of the puzzles.

quill18 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Something about this game reminds me of the ancient Montezuma's Revenge on C64. I like it!

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

The game is very nice, and I love that you used WebGL instead of relying on browser plugins like Flash, Unity or Java :D

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

"Could not initialize webGL"

Arkazon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Glad you're all liking it, I intended to make some of the levers do non-gameplay related things like remove background images or turn sound off. Ended up not having any backgrounds or sounds to remove though!

@pighead10 : Did the browser crash or just hit an error? Which browser are you using?
@FloatingGhost : Are you using a WebGL compatible browser? I suggest trying with Chrome.

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Wow! Nice level designs!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:52pm

A little simple and easy. Graphics weren't too bad, and was a little puzzling. Not bad for 48 hours, but some audio and a bit more polish would be nice.

Polar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:42pm

A great idea, and a great take on Minimalism. My only issue was that it was quite easy, but that's not that much of an issue.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Very nice puzzler! I like it :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Pretty cool, I liked how you could confound the monsters by walking over top of them.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I would have liked a "Level Minimized" screen with Bob sitting down (on thin air) and eating some potatoes, before cutting to the next level.

Otherwise a pleasant puzzle platformer with a whole lotta levels.

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice entry, I liked the mechanics and the player graphics!

dem0 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:26pm

That was really simple, yet fun little puzzle game :)

TurboDindon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Hehe, very fun to play!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]