April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Squares

by KunoNoOni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my entry for Minimalism. Its an avoider game called Squares. How long can you avoid the squares? My best is 126 sec. Let me know what you got in the comments.

Arrow keys to move.
M to mute music.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#339Theme3.76
#428Audio2.92
#458Fun3.09
#698Overall3.04
#885Humor1.81
#922Mood2.51
#1017Graphics2.42
#1093Innovation2.29

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

Kind of fun game, but once you get used to it, it gets quite easy. Also, I got kind of dizzy...:P

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12am

Great game, super-simple, but works. Menu screen is amazing - voice saying "squares" is simply fabulous.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

Nice. I wish the movement of the black square was a bit more smooth / slippery to make it harder. Graphics fit the theme very well.

Finnegan2100 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

I also liked the "SQUARES" voice! Got a soft spot for avoid-till-they-getcha games. This one was fun!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

it's all about the gameplay man!!! Very fun, good job.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I like it. Very minimal, but as it speeds up you have to think ahead and figure out where you need to be to survive the longest.

If I was going to make any change, I'd tweak the movement speed and especially the inertia. Right now there isn't much weight and it starts and stops kind of abruptly. Smoothing that out would make the game feel better (though it would probably make the game a tad bit easier).

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

Fun game. One surprise - no squares from the bottom? Intentional?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

Simple little game. Pretty well implemented. Nice particle effect when you die. Maybe show your time at the end?

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40am

Nice game. I appreciated the constant movement speed of all the blocks (including your own). It allows for a strategy of moving in a direction that oncoming blocks are, and only focusing on avoiding two colors.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

Panic-inducing music = great.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Love the music and how it slowly builds up the panic within you. Stays true to the theme as well!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Really simple avoiding game and the 'Squares' voice at the start was funny :) Great job :P

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Very nice! Simple concept with an excellent execution.
Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Appreciate all the feedback :) I'm really glad you all like the titlescreen. I think I put more time into it than the game.

@Lucas Tiridath: After you die, if you play again your last time is shown under 'Session'.

@VictorGrunn: When the theme was announced, I kept reading the wikipedia article on Minimalism and staring at that Piet Mondrian picture. That's were the idea for the game game from. The painting only uses the colors black, white, red, blue and yellow. So since I was basing my game on the painting I wanted to stay true to it. So this is why there are no squares from the bottom. :)

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:41am

enjoyed it, 57 :P simple and creative, effective. nice job

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58am

I dig it. So simple, yet satisfying. 55 seconds.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

82 seconds! Gets really trippy after the first minute :).

Loved the mondriaan homage with the colours.

netgrind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06pm

The colors looked cool when the screen was full of them. I wasn't a fan of your resolution choice, even with full screening my browser I couldn't see everything.

vico87 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Awesome game! Really addictive.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:40am

I guess all those years playing bullet-hells pays off http://imgur.com/KxWl7j0 Nice game!

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:48am

Reminds me of my earlier "minimal" LD entry, except in that one you controlled the block with a mouse =)

zinfandel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:46am

Love it!
It's an excellent entry - contains good working gameplay, matches the theme very well, and is just overall funny.
It kind of reminds me of Sound Dodger, which is a brilliant game.
I would tweak the player control to be faster and smoother, but that's it.
Go squares!

Mesene says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:06am

Sound dind't worked to me on chrome.
Nice entry 90s on my second round :D!

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Cool little game. The music builds up tension as it gets harder. My best was barely 51 seconds.

One thing I would take extra care is window/frame size. The height is way too much to fit in modest displays (HD resolution)

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:48pm

@mesene I'm sorry the sound didn't work for you. I'm not sure what the reason could be. It was made in flash and I get sound when I run it in chrome. But congrats on getting 90s!

Hegemege says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:53am

Fun gameplay, thrillingly simple music :P

I don't know how the game plays on other's browsers, but I had a 20-30 frames per second, and I like my dodging games at smooth 60 :P Nice job!

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Great take on the theme.

This one is lots of fun.

Zccc says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:46pm

The gameplay was too simple... But well done.

pjchardt says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:56am

180 seconds. I think the game needs some other mechanic to increase the depth of the game, as I lost interest after awhile. Nice work though.

Sestren says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:02am

Super simple but straightforward and fun. I got 90 seconds.

AnimeGeek32 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:01am

107 seconds! However, I think this game could be more fun if it has more than one mechanic.

Make A Game says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:19pm

The audio gave a really nice feedback on the pacing of the game. =D Nice and simple. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:15am

Extremely simple but extremely addictive at the same time. I liked the player square's exploding death animation plus I loved how the music seems to get faster the harder the game gets.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]