April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Migration

by semi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(You can run the binary version in Mac and Linux using Wine or run from source if you have python 2.7 and pygame installed - see readme)

My entry for the 48 hour compo is about leading a swarm of fish that migrates from the Falkland Islands in Southern America to the mediterranean sea. You indirectly control the swarm using the mouse. Fish eat plankton, if they eat enough of it, they will reproduce and your swarm will grow. Try to steer your swarm away from predator fish.

As soon as you get out into the open water, the game will become more difficult. Be sure to take good care of your fish and you will be able to make it to the end!

See the readme.txt file for instructions on installation, running, etc.

I've uploaded the project on GitHub: https://github.com/sseemayer/LudumDare26-Minimalism

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#77Overall3.83
#115Mood3.58
#133Fun3.57
#164Innovation3.67
#170Graphics3.74
#294Audio3.13
#515Humor2.27
#1211Theme2.68

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02am

Very nice !

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10am

I enjoyed it. Quite fun. Didn't know where to go until AFTER I read the readme though :)

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:14am

I should have done some kind of intro sequence. Now theres just three non-obvious places where to find out where to go:

1) the readme
2) the instructions screen
3) the big X in the travel log screen

bitiotic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

Nicely done. Excellent job with game design and presentation. Audio is a bit weaker, but is excellent for an LD entry. :)

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Very cool idea and neatly implemented! :)

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Very nice and interesting, if a bit chaotic at times

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Cool game! First run was a disaster. Second run I almost managed to make it around the globe. Ha!

I really like it so you can go coast to coast (the minimap + the map after you finish you session are refreshing). It does gets harder when you hit open water... pretty easy to lose all your fishies if you go crazy.
Fun.
At first, looking at the screenshots, the game reminded me of Aquaria Game. Then, when I actually got into the game the gameplay reminded me the first level of Spore.
Overall it feels good and relaxing.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Fantastic! Looks & feels great, take a bit long to get to the Mediterranean ;)

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

A little tip: make a "linux download" and point it to the source. Practicly every linux distrubution has python installed by default.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

martijn: Well, that's true, I've developed it on linux and run it from source. The line right below the download links explains that the source distribution works for people with python and pygame installed. The readme file also goes into detail on how to do this.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Really nice, great idea, challenging and fun

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Fun! Love the fact that the fish movements are so natural! Got my eyes first up for this game on the twitter ads. A bug reoport: The game crashes if you reach the border of the map.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

oskardevelopment: Thanks for the bug report, I've actually never bothered to try this out, but I'm glad people are going out and exploring the world!

I'm thinking about working on this post-compo, fix the problems that are left over with it, add more content, etc. depending on the reactions I'm getting.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Very relaxing and addictive at the same time. Great job :)

DalsGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice, I like this kind of game.Reminded my of spore and solar. Good Work

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Pretty neat, but damn that Mediterranean is far away! The buggy "land sharks" were hilarious too!

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Very good game! Somewhat hard on spots but it's a part of the challenge. Haven't really seen a game about this before, either.
You could have used a bit more music though. The clip is good but short.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

semi: Its really a nice work so I think there is a market for it if you add some kind of story or goals to it. :)

On the topic of Twitter I saw some links from Twitter on the 27-28th I believe which linked to a YouTube video of the progress of your game. :)

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Really impressive! For 48 hours this is amazingly playable and addictive, though the sounds could use a little work, the eating sound was terrifying :)

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

nice game. The music was a bit stressfull (it kept me from finishing it) but the mood hook me !

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I apologize for the audio, it's the first time that I ever generated any kind of noise. I should have listened to my girlfriend and have put some more time into that :)

Will try to improve on that post-compo.

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

I made it! 115 fishies!

Loved the game, made my day.

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I'd like to write something nice, but actually I'm busy playing your game...

1 hour later:

I've played a couple of LD games today and yesterday and I must admit that so far this one was the most playable and addictive game I've seen.

I liked the sandbox feeling of the game, I love the way in which you can go around growing your population of food-colored fishes just to loose it, so you can build it up again. It sounds silly, but is extremely fun and somehow rewarding, I have no idea why.

Any chance to hear your ideas for further development?

Rastagong says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Hurray, a fellow Pygame developer! :)
I've always thought that the theme of migration could inspire great games. Thanks for making this, it's brilliant! I truly felt sorry when a net caught almost all my swarm.

I will never eat a fish without a second thought again. :p

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:01pm

It's amazing I loved it! The only thing I didn't like is how the camera makes me dizzy when I move the swarm very fast, so it gets pretty hard when there are a lot of predators. I was very far from reaching the goal! Great game tough!

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Very interesting game, the behaviour and movement of the fish felt quite realistic! The music was really nice as well, but the sound effects didn't fit at all, the game could've been quite relaxing if it weren't for them. Pretty graphics! Nice main menu, it reminded me a little of the one in Populous the beginning, very cool!
All in all, cool game, if you add some more fitting sound effects(that doesn't sound like punching :P),I think this game could be really atmospheric and relaxing to play!

May 3, 2013 @ 10:52am

Finally played it - even better than I thought after watching the video. The sound gets a little annoying and the gameplay seems quite repetitive, but other than that it is great. Nice graphics, well thought out game logics, entertaining AI (which to me is a good thing) and good atmosphere. I really like the fact that the game world is not entirely fictional but based on earth.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:54am

Oh, and as belickim already said: Seeing your swarm grow is indeed very rewarding. Well done!

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:03pm

That's a very nice game with rather original concept. I like very much.

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Very cute little game ! I like its mood and originality. You could had a whale sometimes that you have to follow for protection, for a while ;) Bravo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]