April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kill The King

by Myyyvothrr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My entry for Ludum Dare 26: A "Turn-based Fantasy Chess-like minimalistic game for two players".

Should play in every browser, also tested on iOS and Windows Phone.

Select your piece with a click (or tap) and move with another click to one of the highlighted tiles. You can see the healthpoints of your pieces on the right. Every piece does 1 damage if it reaches a taken tile, except the Wizard who does 2 damage. Your goal is to kill the king.

HTML5 game made with ImpactJS and Pro Motion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#596Graphics2.98
#748Audio2.38
#767Mood2.67
#831Theme3.25
#851Innovation2.74
#861Overall2.89
#973Fun2.52
#975Humor1.65

Comments

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Neat little game. Make it clear that it requires more than one human player.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20am

An original sort of chess. Would be great with one player mode in future.

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:02pm

It doesn't say anywhere in the description that it is a multiplayer game only. This makes it hard to test the game.

Spelchan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:28pm

A cross between Chess and a fantasy RPG. With a bit of work could be a geat game.

sanojian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Single player mode could make this a winner.

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Very neat! I love the idea. But, I agree, without a 1 Player mode w AI opponent, it makes it hard to play/rate/review. Good job, though!

zazery says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I played against myself. It's an interesting game. I like the aesthetics and the audio is pretty good. Gameplay wise I found the Wizard the most difficult piece to position but it was also the most useful.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I really should have added some AI... Thanks for your feedback!

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I like the idea of an alternate version of chess, but would have liked a 1 Player mode.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I like the usage of chess as a base for a new game here. I think that the board is a bit empty though, and there aren't quite enough game pieces to justify the full chess board. I also felt like the fact that knights can't move backwards meant that their usefulness was terribly compromised considering that they don't have the special power of a chess pawn to graduate to a Queen.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:21am

Simple and well-done :)

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Love the idea here, a nice minimalist adaptation on chess.
It's a shame there was no single player mode, but I can imagine how tricky that would be for a 48hr compo!
Music got to me a bit after a few goes. Otherwise liked the game :)

JokerDen says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Cute graphics. Mechanic need some description inside the game and sure it need AI in post-compo. But my plus for a game.

Detocroix says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:14pm

You have a very good taste in color, it's almost like a cake as a game :)

Snail_Man says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

A cool little chess variant. I could have used a quick ingame help file though.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Thank you again for your ratings and comments!

gizmo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:07am

i just love the atmosphere this games spreads...! great idea and execution!

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Well, this one is hard to test out without any opponents, so cannot say anything about the balance and strategy of the game. Looked very clean and simple.

itsZN says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:35pm

very interesting mix of chess with health per piece.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:19pm

This game conveys a lot of atmosphere with minimal components. But the gameplay is difficult to judge as the rules are only discoverable through playing the game and it would take a while with two players to figure out what the good strategies are.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice game, neat idea! Great job!

stefan says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I think this game could be real fun if I could have played a real opponent. But the rules are simple, so maybe I will play this with some friends on a real chessboard :) Nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]