April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hell Hole

by somebear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I got bogged down by details, and didn't get the story or levels in place I had planned. Instead it's now an insanely hard auto-generated game.

Move using WASD or arrow keys. Shoot using space. You win if you shoot all the demons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1013Graphics2.43
#1088Mood2.28
#1135Theme2.83
#1148Fun2.25
#1214Overall2.42
#1238Innovation2.04
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

well done. fun to inch around sneaking up on the demons and shoot them before I get hit. Only issue I had was demons spawning right next to me on some new games.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

good, but as you said, it's pretty hard :9

somebear says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I can fully relate. When I found I didn't have time to do any real level design, I just scrambled to get stuff into place. Wanted to make sure the demons didn't spawn within the viewport, but ran out of time.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Wow those demons are fast! After playing a while got a level with no Demons so I was stuck ?!

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Pretty hard - demons should be a little slower.

Good work though!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Nice effort. The game is hard because the view is too small to see the demons coming. Sometimes I randomly teleport (or die?) for no apparent reason. A bug?

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:21am

Nice to see Inky getting some work now that his arcade days are over.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:23am

This game is almost impossible as the demons are as fast as the player, you can spawn very close to them, and they can kill you when they're dying.
I also found some camera problems...

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:56am

Wanted to play this game more, but couldn't make it very far due to the difficulty. I'm hoping for a post compo version :)

vidarn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Good job on the post-compo version. It fixes all the problems I had with the original game. Keep it up!

ThirteenWB says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:47pm

This game is extremely difficult before you get the hang of it since the demons are the same speed as you. Challenging but I kinda like it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]