April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Pixels

by Atridas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So... that's it. Another LD finished.

In the distant future, Machines have become strong enought to control the world and... play videogames. One can thing this as a sample of a game those machines may play.

You are violet (fucsia) and you have to defeat Green, your archenemy. You gain coins each second (you can upgrade the speed with the "+" button if you have enoght money) and defeating enemies.

You can send bots to the enemy base buying them with the coins you earn. You win if your bots destroy the enemy base.


The gameplay is BattleCats meets DotA. Sort of. Maybe.

Edit: Removed web version. I had hopes but it broke everything, so it won't happen.

P.S.: Sorry for my lack of entries, I developed this without time in the only 16 hours I had a PC this weekend.

P.P.S.: Added a linux cshell script to make the correct call to java.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#140Fun3.55
#231Overall3.52
#299Theme3.81
#374Audio3.00
#543Innovation3.13
#706Graphics2.84
#767Mood2.67
#961Humor1.67

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

interesting mechanics! colors are a bit awkward but otherwise cool!

Siewart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

I really like the gameplay! :D

keksdev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I get the following exception on linux x64:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

I just can not win this game. it is fun and challenging

Gaeel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Yeah, I think my computer almost died from too many dudes on screen...

Not sure it would have been possible to win, it felt like three standoffs, but it was funny to see so many units duking it out

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

For those using linux (and maybe OS/X, I can't test) I added a simple script with the correct java call to init the game.

And yes, the game's fps drops at the end, I had no time to make some optimizations (quad trees comes to mind).

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

DOTA Lite! :-) I spent far longer playing this than I intended.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice game concept, and fun to play. I do want to be able to speed the game up, because sometimes you have to wait a long time for something to happen.

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

@Cheshyr I can't express how happy your comment made me :D

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

16:20 46K score... Damn you eat 16 minutes of my life!
And yea MiniDota :D

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

BTW nice sounds, as for graphics is little bit weird.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:02am

I love this game! You achieve your objective. I'm playing Battle Cats now and you combine successfully its mechanics with DotA :D

Ernyz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12pm

This is so awesome (probably because im a fan of LoL) :D really nice entry, imho you should work on this game more (make some more various types of soldiers) and port it to anroid, i would definitely buy it.

D3zmodos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Its like a dota version of a football manager game :P

Sound started out ok, but when all 3 lanes are completely clogged up, its pretty unbearalbe :<
I was also a little dissappointed by the lack of unit variety (only 3?)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Cool little game with simple graphism. I found it too slow for me, a speed-up button would have been great :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Cool! I think the trick to winning is buying the 150-point stars rather than anything else, and slowly upgrading. Music is catchy, but a little grating.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Played for a little more than 10 minutes but wasn't patient enough since there didn't seem to be an end in sight. the pixel armies pretty much neutralized each other and the game got slower and slower. Nontheless very nice, you seem to have captured the essence of such games very well. The music is nice too.

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Nice audio. A foward button would be great. Otherwise, good entry!

May 7, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it. Following error message appears: "An error occured and the game will exit." Meh - not very informative. Win XP, 32-bit btw.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]