April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Force

by jedilemons - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A planetary defense game where you have to defend the planet from an endless shower of asteroids, while trying to use the minimal force possible but also get a good survival time.

Read the help before you play and have fun :D

(I rewrote my entry three times in a rush so expect bugs! xD (Please report them to me! :D))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27am

Hey, I had some trouble running the game on Windows 7. I had to put "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre7\bin\" inside of the batch file, in case someone else has the same problem.

I liked the music, but I got completely overwhelmed by those darn ROIDS!

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

Great graphics and music, but had a hard time figuring out the instructions, and once I did get them had a harder time controlling the rocket

GreenNecro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

Not working for me it give an error !! http://imgur.com/harhpnC
fix please

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

I dont understand the planet, does it contains an energy shield?
and if you press x repeatedly , are you creating different missiles?

jedilemons says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

@GreenNecro Try updating your graphics drivers :)

jedilemons says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

I'll probably make a post compo version at some point fixing some things and making the rocket control more logically :)

jedilemons says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

@juaxix Yeah, if you spam X it creates multiple missiles that you can control after the one you are currently controlling explodes :)

bernhard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I like the presentation but couldn't figure out the game >_< I tried 10 times but the highest score I got was when doing nothing at all (1000 points)

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Well I tried my best to play, reading the helps 3 times - infact just a part of the help because my netbook resolution is only 1024 width - But it was still very difficult to handle. Most of the time I die while my first rocket is stil flying. The rocket itselft have a very strange way to move and I collided asteroids only by accident.
Maybe attacking the planet with less asteroid on start and more after 2 or 3 minutes would help new player to get used to the gameplay.
I was also unable to restart the game and had to launch the game several time each tiem I wanted to play a new game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]