April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jumps--

by revilossor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

use arrow key to move, escape to retry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Graphics3.48
#367Fun3.19
#374Audio3.00
#584Overall3.14
#626Mood2.80
#650Innovation3.00
#946Theme3.11
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Very fun and addicting game with an interesting focus mechanic and a great retro art style. Very well done!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Nice game, however I found it pretty hard. Good stuff however.

robc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Some solid challenge in this one, along with some nasty (in a good way) level design.

Quite like how it took the basic platformer trope & added the limited jumps.

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

of the games i've seen doing limited jumping, this one is probably the best

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Overall it's a well-done platformer with a nice aesthetic/graphics and good sound for this fast of a game...

That said, your camera is atrocious. The camera should try to show you where you are going, not focus on where you have been. Having 2-3 tiles of visibility when you're running is extremely detrimental to platformer gameplay, and it's ultimately why I quit.

Also, it's not super-intuitive to die from walking into the sides of spikes.

Good overall entry, but the camera really ruined it for me.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

The retro art style (C64-like ?) is pretty; the jumping mechanism isn't obvious at the beginning, but after multiple deaths it's very fun!
... but you should fix the camera in the 11th level: it's very too slow imho.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

This requires some strategie but it's fine !

dsoft20 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:56am

Nice graphics, and nice game, it's very fun to play :D

May 3, 2013 @ 11:01am

Very good game and great art style. Certainly challenging and at times slightly frustrating (having to wait for the moving spiky things after each respawn for instance), but still fun and rewarding.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Very hard but good concept ;) And well executed !

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Simple but effective. I love the gravity and the way the platforming feels. The art is nice as well. :) The levels got pretty punishing later on though (which is not a bad thing).

Great job! :)

May 17, 2013 @ 8:33am

The mechanic is nice, but I have a really big caveat with the camera movement. Is there any specific reason you chose not to center it on the player? As it is now, it's impossible to judge where thing are going to be after you jump from a side of the screen, and shots just appear out of nowhere to kill you.

The controls are also way too floaty in my opinion, it's really hard to do precision platforming this way.

Good job elsewise! ~

frosty says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:58am

Love the pixel art and retro soundtrack. Excellent work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]