April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

InVS

by Canyon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How To Play

When you strike your opponent with a projectile the world minimizes. Hold the last piece of ground to win.

Theme justification:
-Minimal Filesize: Procedural graphics kept the filesize very small(26kb)
-Minimal map size: When a player is killed the map becomes smaller.
-Minimal games design:Simple game mechanics that form interesting and complex interactions.
-Minimal colour scheme: The visual design uses one colour, 2 tones of grey, black and white,


-Protect yourself with walls. Trap your opponent.
-Do not be afraid of your own bullets, suicide can be strategic.
-Observe the behaviours of the different objects in the game. Use them to your advantage.

-Canyon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#630Innovation3.03
#778Theme3.31
#923Audio2.04
#1046Humor1.41
#1085Overall2.64
#1150Graphics2.21
#1169Mood2.11
#1175Fun2.20

Comments

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Hard to play on an European keyboard, using the arrow keys should be a better choice. I did not understand how to win despite trying. But it's quite nice however!

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

Damn I didn't consider European Keyboards. It is 2 Player game.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Took me a while to figure out it's a 2-player game. Interesting choice!

grimpunch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Good concept.

Canyon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

Thanks guys. :)

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01am

I played with myself, black one ended up taking himself out.

kingtharg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Definitely an interesting concept, I like it! Maybe it would benefit from a bit more depth though? Hard to say for sure, but good job.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

It reminds me of an old paper game I played back in grade school where you got points completing a box on the grid; except, you know with guns.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

Couldn't find noone to play... a cpu opponent would be great!

Anyway remainded me to snake xD

Canyon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

Hey guys, I just put up a post competition version.
http://canyonthings.com/invs/

@Dew good idea, writing an AI for this game is definitely on my to do list, but I didn't think it was possible with in 48 hours.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03am

Nice multiplayer games are where its at! Cool concept, will definitely snag a second person to try it with also.

Canyon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

@Travis Thanks man. I only just played it with someone else for the first time. It was fun but needs a bit of tweaking and bug fixing still. I'm interested to hear how it goes.

Does anyone know the best program for making gameplay videos? Preferably that captures sound?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Cool game ^^

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:38pm

So I tried, with my girlfriend. She didn't liked it :( She is picky though. I quite liked the game even if we didn't played long.

But I have to say the ship movement is really tricky, I guess some practice is needed to master it. Maybe it could be simplified?

This mechanic were you can create walls, and regarding their color, they let the bullet pass or bounce it. That's brilliant!

Canyon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39am

@Dir3kt
Thanks for trying it out 2 player man. Much appreciated. I really enjoyed your game.
I agree, I was worried the movement was going to be tricky.
Right now, left and right, turn you anti-clockwise/clockwise and forward moves you in the direction.

It would be more intuitive if left moves you left, right moves you right etc etc.

I felt I had to let the player turn independently of their movement so they could place a wall to the left of them but not move left (if that makes sense). I think the game would play a lot better with controllers though.

If anyone has any suggestions, I will try it out and put it in the post compo version.

Canyon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I've updated the controls to make it hopefully more logical. Hope it makes the game feel nicer.

Thank you very much for your feedback.

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:05am

Hey, nice concept! Not a fan of the controls, but the idea of the shrinking space is really well executed.

dick_claus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Nice idea to make two player game.

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:51am

Nice game, well done !

itsZN says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Its a little tricky to navigate, and it would help if the movement was a little more fluent...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]