April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rhynix

by fpMiguel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move all squares to the purple blocks to destroy them. Try to do this with as few moves as possible.

Movement:
[PC] arrow keys
[Android] arrow keys OR tap the left of the screen to go left, tap the right to go right, tap on top (in the middle) to go up and on the bottom (in the middle) to go down!

Notes:
Please note that you need the latest Java in order to run this: http://java.com/en/download/index.jsp (For Windows, Mac and Linux)

The level with the question mark is not bugged. The collision grid is hidden on purpose and you have to try to find the way by navigating blindly. Hence the question mark :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#235Theme3.89
#363Mood3.13
#367Fun3.19
#443Audio2.88
#595Innovation3.08
#610Overall3.12
#973Graphics2.50
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Linux/Mac link doesn't work.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Hey nice idea. I found a bug in the 4th world, I could move through walls. Would have been nice to be able to try again if you went over the move limit. Nice soundtrack.

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Nice job!! Works great on my Galaxy S3. Music is really nice, and cool little puzzles. Now I have to check out libgdx...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Linux/Mac link worked on my mac.

Canobie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Mac didn't work for me either.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very suitable music for the puzzle game. Graphics minimal and to the point. I've always been terrible at these kinds of games but I like the idea. Good entry!

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

This was pretty good, the sound effects were quite loud though.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

it was kind of hard to play on android, but overall it's a very nice idea.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Nice idea with good implementation. I think I'm quite bad at it because I kept getting out of limit :/

I played on Windows and found two glitches:
-clicking the link tries to open the jar as a txt file (had to save it on desktop and rename).
-the level with the question mark is bugged. Looks like the visual doesn't match the collision grid. Still managed to find my way out.

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:20am

Great abstract puzzler, agreeable colour scheme and great use of the theme. Enjoyed the music too, really helps set the tone. Very tricky to win within the move limit - having star ratings or something for suboptimal solutions would be nice touch. Not sure if it was a bug or a trick level, but there seemed to be invisible walls on the question mark level. Solid game though, happy I played it.

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:29am

Interesting concept, and certainly a great fit for the theme. I like the retro graphics, and the music was nice, although I'd have liked something a little more chiptune-y in nature, more fitting to the graphics and gameplay.

My only complaint would be the level with the question mark, as I found it to be rather unfair, bearing in mind that the secondary objective of the game is to use as few moves as possible, and that's impossible by definition on that specific level. Thus, I felt it was somewhat detracting from the whole experience.

Congratulations! :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I really enjoyed playing this game for how simple it was. You should cut them of at a certain amount of moves... Overall great job on the theme.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Hey, this is challenging! liked a lot your idea, controlling several entities at the same time to reach a goal. However, I also found the bug on one level, for me not only the characters could move inside the wall, as they were not allowed to move on places where there are no walls. Other than that, a very solid entry that I'd happily buy.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:07pm

I love the simplicity of the concept here. It fits the theme perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]