April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bird's Eyes

by galman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fly bird! Fly!
Fly through tornadoes to increase your speed, beaware of balloons!

Space to flap your wings.

Minimalism theme:
1. The whole game is played with only one key.
2. The whole game is based only on one mechanism, wings flapping.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#122Humor3.26
#243Audio3.23
#438Fun3.11
#455Mood3.00
#601Graphics2.97
#653Overall3.08
#946Innovation2.58
#1013Theme3.03

Comments

Patacorow says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Awesome! The stream was fun :D

galman says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Patacorow: Thanks :D Good luck for all of us

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Agh that music! It's nice then it goes "aha, you're going craazy!"

Liked it but it begs for *upgrades* you can get by achieving long distances (something like learning-to-fly-2)

Silly balloons!

Yeah liked it :)

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Fun game but the level seems quite dependent of luck.
Collision feels a little imprecise. I liked the music.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

The music is so weird that the game became addictive :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

It was fun, but where the hell is potato???

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

I like how you kept the flapping mechanic even in the menu. Also the music cracked me up.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

lol, kind of hilarious; and yes, the music is funny too (in a good way) =)

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Fly damn you *hammers space*. Once I got the rhythm I really enjoyed it. Got that 'just one more' vibe. The music really works well.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Not easy at the first pickup, cute art style though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

365.67! This is pretty well done game.

It's just. Bit simple. Besides the one button your control on the bird is very minimal. Perhaps there could have been some kind of power ups or something. To spice things up a little.

Overall it's pretty solid. It just needs little something something. And dat music.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Really good music, could use a bit more control for the movement of the bird but a very good game, none the less. :)

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Like the game- the music is very good.
In the first time it's a little hard- but i got used to it.

eli says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nailed it!! Challenging and cool. Loved the music a LOT (could have been a longer loop though). Needed sounds!

I think the balloon hitbox could be a little smaller (I'm pretty sure the string deflated the balloon).

There's something wonderful about the game not actually ending when it's over. You can keep flapping for a long time.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

LOL at the thumbnail first of all. simple game but the music made me play further. same with other comments weird music but still good :D i also liked how you make that creature flap 3 times to play :D

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Wow the music is pretty weird but catchy. The art fits your game theme well.

The concept is OK but the control mechanics don't really seem to be right there. Especially when the bar runs out, the bird feel like weighs tons and you cant keep up flapping.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Fun, simple game. Well polished. Cool music. Some more dramatic sfx could take it further.

LemonTree says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Awesome! Great bird :-D

vilya says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice and polished. There seems to be an element of luck in where the tornadoes get placed?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]