April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism shooter

by Gemberkoekje - 48 Hour Compo Entry

FAIR WARNING: This game is NOT FINISHED. If you feel like you're playing some half-assed attempt of a game... well, you're completely correct.

I had underestimated how work stress affected my performance and will to program for myself, so about half-way I just... gave up. Still putting in an entry so I can rate and just to show what i DID do, but it's not particularly... pretty.

Timelapse (Including my ugly'ead) as linked above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#790Theme3.30
#928Graphics2.57
#1060Fun2.39
#1113Mood2.24
#1132Overall2.56
#1238Innovation2.04
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:03am

nice squares ^-)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Mouse sensibility is very very high, also sometimes when launching the game i'm stuck, i don't know why !

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I think there's much to appreciate here. Random level generator, an AI that moves and peruses the player in some ways, collision and destroying of enemies.
If there were just an enemy counter and a YOU WIN screen when all enemies are dead it would have been a very decent entry in my opinion.
Also having a single EXE file with no dependencies is really nice to have. Bonus for real C++ game development!

Gemberkoekje says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:47am

@EdoMiyamoto Well, the level is so random, sometime you spawn inside a pillar, barrel or other random element. A bug I never solved, unfortunately :'(

@Bernhard thank you; I just expect better of myself :P But I really appreciate your kind words :)

May 6, 2013 @ 7:51am

Good effort. Not sure if I'd personally submit anything I didn't feel wasn't wasting people's time, so points for bravery.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:52am

So, I spawn, a monolith runs towards me and I can't do anything. I can't even quit, I have to Ctrl+Alt+Del--and since the mouse is grabbed funny, I have to use the keyboard to navigate the task manager. Maybe next time use a framework that takes care of UI for you?

Gemberkoekje says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:01am

@Dietrich you can un-grab the mouse by right-mouse-clicking or pressing ESC in the game. I agree that it should auto-ungrab when you alt-tab, another bug I never solved.

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:20am

I have to agree with Bernhard. What you've accomplished in such little time is actually a huge chunk of the work towards a full game.

Just because LD is over doesn't mean the project has to die, I think it'd be awesome if you spent a little more time on this and released a post-LD version with more complete features. If not, no worries :)

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:10am

I have never had epilepsy, but almost happened now :))

Gemberkoekje says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:40am

@Pinkerator I wanted to do some lighting, it didn't work, so i tried to make the walls... obvious. It worked, in general, but it's not good for epileptics ^_^'

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:27am

Well it was way better than i expected. To see post-compo version would be nice :)

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:52am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

geckojsc says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:58pm

You got off to a promising start! Well done for writing a 3D game from scratch, that was an ambitious task for 48 hours. I wonder how the entry would have turned out if you'd built on a more high-level engine?

Gemberkoekje says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:36am

@gecko The problem was that I wasn't able to use the 48 hours as well as I'd liked to; not as much the engine. Also, my goal was procedural generation, which doesn't get any easier with higher level engines, as they often have these kinds of tricks abstracted away behind layers of 'ease'.

Floko says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:41am

Hi , @Gemberkoekje! =] I`m really glad you enjoyed our game, and i`m sorry I can`t test your right now because i`m in a computer where I can`t actually install anything =(
Anyway , send me an e-mail so we can talk :

thiers.lucas@gmail.com

I'll be expecting your e-mail , bye =]

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]