April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Daft Pong

by mikelovesrobots3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if Pong was massively multiplayer? What would happen? You should find out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#31Humor3.80
#33Innovation4.09
#53Overall3.91
#60Fun3.76
#141Mood3.51
#176Theme3.98
#302Audio3.12
#416Graphics3.24

Comments

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25am

Amazing idea and execution. Kudos.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

Really cool idea! I just wanted to scream to everyone on my team to just pick a spot and stay there so we cover the entire side rather than everyone trying to hit the ball.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

omagad it was SO FUN I don't know how it's possible but suddenly i became Admin and was moving freely spawning multiball with 1 :O AWESOME

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

If you make a wall, there is literally no way to lose.

bitiotic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

Nicely done! Minimal for sure, multiplayer and very smooth. Gameplay, graphics, and sound all worked together nicely.

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

Great idea and nice execution. Not sure players are all playing the same game or is it just collecting names? Will have to investigate the source...

Sos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Wow! An MMO in 48h! Mad props, man! And it plays so smooth!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

At first, I thought it was awesome that it was semi-MMO pong. Then I realised that it wasn't actually multiplayer, and then I knew the meaning of awesome.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Loved the Idea!!!! Gratz!

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Very great game. Pong is as minimal as you can get really :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I have just been through a roller coaster of emotions.

First, I read the description. Oh wow, I thought. Someone really tried to go for a large scale multiplayer game? And it's pong? What a cool idea! I have to see this!

Then, I saw the message about how many hundreds of players were playing right now, and I thought, really? I don't know, maybe... if so, awesome!

Then, I saw all the other players paddles. That's when I started to get suspicious. Nobody was AFK. People are always AFK with stuff like this. They were also all moving in very similar ways that looked like AI control to me. Very suspicious at this point.

Then, I clicked away from my browser and saw that the game paused. Boom! I thought! Busted! What a scam! This isn't multiplayer at all! This dev is trying to pass off a fake MMO. Pfft. Loser.

Then, I saw the fake error message and the Admin mode and the crazy Multiball stuff. Oh! Wait! It's a joke. The dev is in on it, and I am just now getting it. Back to "This is awesome!"

Well played, sir. Well played. :)

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Brilliant, the most fun I've had with an LD game. I literally laughed out loud when I became admin for some reason and spawned a hundred extra balls.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

After spending the weekend creating a multiplayer game for LD26, I was completely blown away by how smoothly your netcode was working.

So blown away that I had to download the source and Check. Through. Every. File. to find out exactly how it worked.

You can't do that to my sleep-deprived brain.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Lol I started playing and I was very confused. I laughed when I became admin and realized it was a joke. Awesome game, really funny stuff.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Hysterically funny. Excellent!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Such an awesome idea, and it's so genius to see play out!!!! Fantastic job!

tompudding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Bloody brilliant idea. I was completely misled until I got the multi-ball. Mind blowing!

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:10pm

very cool :) Great use of theme!

jadams says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Well played.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:11am

Perfecto! Me and 'BarackObama' rocked it :P

JustinMullin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:17am

There are so many things that are incredible about this game, I don't even know where to start. I laughed, I cried...10/10, have all of the prizes.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:54am

WOw! Amazing man :)

May 13, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I liked it a lot, super fun! :)
Where did the list of player names come from, because I was "Pacifist Games" and I saw another player on my team called "PacifistGames" did you pull them from your twitter followers?

allinlabs says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I love that, when the ball goes too fast, it's actually making some sort of minimalist 8bit music :p
Fun, well done.

Beldarak says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This is simply awesome. You forgot to put AFK AI too :D

Beldarak says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Wait... I saw some AFKs :D

May 14, 2013 @ 1:48am

WeaselZone did an awesome Let's Play of Daft Pong: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3oOe9tF3IQ

blackarm says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:47am

This is not an MMO. Why would you claim it as an MMO? This is just AI with a random list of fake usernames...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]