April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Puzzlecave Episode 1 - Raiders Of The Lost Potato

by gizmo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Potatomonster stole all potatoes from Pinkbunnyland, help Pinkbunny to retrieve em all!

This is my april 2013 #LD48 entry

As an artist (and not a programmer) who mainly deals with lot's of polygons and high-res imagery all day i wanted to approach art in games from the most minimal, basic angle i could think of. So no Photoshop, no Softimage, Mudbox or Zbrush. My weapon of choice was a texteditor (Pluma/gedit), a palette of whopping 6 predefined colors and a couple of arrays. So, pixeling a spriteanimation felt a bit like editing several excel sheets at once...

It was quite a monkish experience and i enjoyed it a lot.

If the resulting game is a piece of minimal art surely depends on your personal viewing angle, but i can assure you the process of crafting was indeed under quite minimal conditions :D

\o gizmo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#195Graphics3.69
#379Fun3.18
#389Humor2.50
#490Mood2.97
#698Overall3.04
#737Theme3.35
#1162Innovation2.18

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13am

I'm having trouble with your Web URL, it was working earlier.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

This is pretty great. The art style fits perfectly without copping out to geometric shapes, and I love the glow everything had. This seems like it would have made a perfect intellivision game.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

I like the CRT look. Pinkbunny looks like Pinkduckhead to me. First thing I tried to do was eat one of the purple things.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

love it.

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

Had some issues to access the website but it worked after some tries. The game is fun and the art is great :)

Spiridios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38am

Love the art style - more the CRT effect than the actual graphics. I like your interpretation of the theme.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

I like the glowing effect!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

This is very goodlooking. Reminds me of Paganitzu (a very old PC game which I loved as a boy). i love the glow.

Nice work buddy

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

Link not working for me! =(

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Nice touch with the 80's style monitor blur.

svenardo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Very well done. As a life long boulder dash fan it's jarring not to be able to pick up the diamonds ;). Enjoyed it a lot and would like to have a way to return to the last screen I was at on reload.

svenardo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

Of course, after writing that, I got to the end screen ;)

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

@brian corr: paganitzu was my main inspiration! i even planned enemies like the snakes, but i ran out of time.. i will finish this game outside of the compo and put more levels in once i fetched some sleep :D

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

I don't know why, but the graphics reminds me of the 1983 digger game. Maybe it's the diamonds. Great!

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

@svenardo: hehe, i thought it might be fun to reverse it: collect the potatoes/boulders and leave the jewelry lying around.. pink bunnies have no use for diamonds :)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

Was fun! Potatoes!!!

Tanius says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

Can't seem to find the page

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

The pageloading errors should be fixed now - Sorry for that!

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Love the graphics and plays well. Nice job!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

ahhh the good old sokoban times... nothing too new here, but I liked the graphics :)

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

LD the only type you get the potatoes instead of the diamonds!
Nice puzzle, love the blurry effect!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

Cheap and cheerful=)
But not bad at all. Good luck, man!

May 2, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Perhaps you should add "restart level" button

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:54am

It reminds me of the game built in to my old television.

Its a bit easy tho, i got to the end in less than 3mins.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:17am

Good art and retro style. Nice entry for 48 hours.

Funny you mention Paganitzu :) We published that game in the early 90s and I was thinking of that the whole time I was playing this. Keith Schuler (who made it) works on Borderlands today.

jacklehamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:26am

Cute game, and I like how you made it CRT style.
Now the puzzles, they are too easy, and add more diversity.

free_napalm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I could finally play it, and I like it. It reminds me of Adventures of Lolo and other NES puzzle games. It is quite easy, but I had great fun speedrunning on my first try.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:33am

great way to use the theme in your design of the game -- too bad there was no music -- great effort!

May 6, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice game, cute looks, needs some sound! :) A bit short, too, but what's there is rather good!

Uhfgood says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Well done, nice way to be minimalistic. Even though the blurring was interesting, it just looked like someone smeared Vaseline over my screen.

Alexander says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:21am

The ending was cool!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Really like graphics (expecially CRT effect) and the gameplay.
Maybe levels are a bit too easy, game needs more challenging ones!

Misfit says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Retro puzzles forever! CRT effect is awesome!

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:35am

I _loved_ this. Have to admit I didn't realise it was a bunny, but that's part of the charm of simple, abstract graphics, they're many things to many people. Would play a longer version of this

gizmo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:32am

@GeorgeBroussard i _loved_ your early titles! i remember playing Pharao's Tomb for hours on end back in the days... As an hommage to all you guys at Apogee and episodic gaming in general i decided to turn this game into a small trilogy. I just finished the first episode, featuring 15 levels, enemies, sound, a narrative and finally a possibility to reset a level :)

-> http://www.pixelz.de/pcave1.exe (or use the link above)

fermcg says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:10am

I liked it :D

cardboard says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I really like the blurred graphics. It makes me feel like I'm playing on an old CRT monitor or TV. My only complainst are the game felt too short and the puzzles never became difficult enough. I'm about to give the Post-Comp version a try though, so I'm pretty sure you've addressed these things.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]