April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Downcast

by JessePB - Jam Entry

"Adrift in the ocean. Who knows how long it's been?

You're not even sure it's worth catching a fish to see another day."

LMB to cast, press again to reel.

More of an interactive scene.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#99Theme(Jam)3.78
#105Graphics(Jam)3.85
#115Mood(Jam)3.48
#168Audio(Jam)3.27
#273Innovation(Jam)2.96
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#356Humor(Jam)1.84
#501Fun(Jam)2.15

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Fishing!

Nice work on the water-material, its cartooniness works quite well.

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

love the art style

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

Great use of theme!

lambomang says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

How do you play it? I left click to cast the line, then when it starts shaking I can't figure out how to bring up what I've caught. Left clicking just makes it come up empty.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

How do you catch a fish?

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

Interesting concept. I like the graphics and feel of it. I'm taking a wild guess that not being able to actually catch a fish is part of the point of the game, but that may just be my interpretation.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

The question is are there fishes there?

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Fun little fishing game. Simple but nice art :)

Christian S. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Beautiful. Reminds me of Proteus.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Love the mood, and nice rocking on the boat (the canoe in mine needs more gentle bobbing). Kicking back and enjoying the time passing by. If only it had an interactive drink button.

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

A fishing game!...wait ,where is the fishes? can you cast them? love the experience and sounds...sunny calm ...

May 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Nice sounds, nice visuals. I wish it had gameplay, though.

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Just sitting here, watching the sun go down... Very relaxing, thank you.

juaxix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:24am

Sources please?: )

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:03am

I love the graphics and the atmosphere, but I don't know what I am supposed to do. The fish are fishable?

May 4, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Nice idea. I like the camera effect. The scenario have a good work. I like the game, although i don't is able of get a fish (I'm a very bad fisher, haha).

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Perfectly simple graphics and great sounds! The colors are great too!

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]