April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tana

by oldtopman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*steps onto stage*
*takes Gamey award from Mike Kasprak*
*applause dies down*
I'd like to thank the Ludum Dare admin team for running such an excellent competition!
I'd also like to thank Twitch for streaming my development, all the people who wrote the tools I used.
Definite thanks to
Humorous thanks to Lenovo, who made an excellent laptop - despite constant threats of overheating.
Most of all, I'd like to thank all of my adoring fans - "The Ascii Guy" loves you!
*blows kiss*

This was a long and hard LD, a bit longer for me than most. At the end of the day, I came out on top of an ascii masterpiece with cinematics that propelled me to such a magnificent position. There were compromises, of course. I would have liked to implement a time limit during the actual gameplay, along with faster and faster requirements, but those weren't in the cards for me.

See you next LD!
*hoists Gamey award in the air*
*thunderous applause*
*steps off of stage*

The game is navigated with the ESDF and space keys, to make it a little easier for my players with foreign layouts.

Don't forget to buy my game here - support indie devs like me!
http://monoculesoftware.com/games/project-wheatgrinder/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#188Theme3.96
#381Graphics3.29
#512Mood2.94
#515Innovation3.17
#987Overall2.75
#1236Fun2.04
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

Yorwba says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

The Windows version is broken for me, ntvdm complains about illegal instruction. Also, the .zip is only 1 KiB so probably part of the file is missing.

oldtopman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

@Yorwba Not sure what happened there, but the zip was definitely corrupted. Windows build is back up and running. Thanks!

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Console manipulation at it's finest! It was rather short, but I enjoyed what's there!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Pretty good take on ASCII art. Definitely an all-around minimalistic approach on there.
Short and intriguing.

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

GET UP! Nice take on minimalism, that's for sure.

BenW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23am

I'm digging the ascii art although I'm not sure what's happening at the beginning. It looks like the guy is waking up on top of some robot legs. Nice job making a game with the console.

jayemjee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00am

That was... interesting? Very innovative, but I had no idea what was supposed to be happening at any point. I'm not even sure if I saw it all or if I did something wrong.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41am

Love the ASCII art... not sure I was playing it correctly though.
After awhile it said something like "thanks for playing" and I couldn't continue.

fr_automatik says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:16pm

For some reason, I didn't got the menu, and was thrown directly into the game.
Bah, it's a nice game, and thank you for the ESDF layout.

Norgg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Woked.

Alexander says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:02am

This is very cool, so interpretive

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:07am

Interesting concept although I didn't know what to do half the time. Just started hitting space and before I knew it you were thanking me for playing!

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:12am

I appreciated the aesthetic intellectually, but in practice I found that interpreting what I was looking at took conscious effort. Obviously the gameplay and story are so underdeveloped that I can't comment on those.

I think its really a matter of finding things that are easy to draw in ascii and sticking to them. That will be easier on you AND the player's eyes.

If This were expanded toa full game, it would so be much easier on the eys in full-screen. I know that's alot of work, but...it really would.

Very cool idea, and clearly a good start. Full marks for theme and innovation.

stqn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:43am

I really don't get what the game is. Move to the X and press space? It apparently crashed in an infinite loop at the end (neither ESC nor CTRL-C did work.) The control scheme was confusing, better use the arrow keys for compatibility.

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:05pm

No idea what was going on. What was the actual game? What is life?

Really though, I couldn't figure out how to play the level with the spheres and the X's, so I randomly mashed keys until the cursor was on the right one.

Also: Is this actually a console? If so, nice work!

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:20am

Interesting! I'm not sure I understood what was going on, but it was interesting nonetheless. Your ASCII art is good and the gameplay was interesting, although lacking. I always look forward to seeing your entries.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]