April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Rope Dungeon

by xdegtyarev - Jam Entry

EDIT: Standalone Versions Uploaded

##Super Rope Dungeon##
Explore dungeon in a search of treasures.
Let the journey begin!

#Tags#
minimal, exploration, side-scroller, platformer

#Instructions#
Use arrows to move.
When you'll find the rope press space to shoot rope up.
Use arrows to climb the rope.

Code: xdegtyarev, neku42
Music: nebelig
Art: neku42, kavkos, xdegtyarev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#63Mood(Jam)3.71
#126Fun(Jam)3.31
#140Overall(Jam)3.48
#154Graphics(Jam)3.67
#157Audio(Jam)3.31
#248Humor(Jam)2.25
#249Innovation(Jam)3.05
#289Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

Great rope mechanic!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43am

Nice game, I love it ;)

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Fantastic graphics nice job. Rope mechanic was pretty awesome, worked well with the graphics.

Aceria says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

Really nice game. More signposting of what is going to kill you would improve it further, and what you are trying to achieve, but the simple and well implemented rope mechanic feels very intuitive. Great job!

caporaltito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

Nice, the graphics are great, the atmosphere and the music too ! The rope mechanics is good but I'm kind of lost, I don't know what to do in the dungeon.

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

I like the art, it's kinda pure and simple, nice game overall :D

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Very cool, probably my 2nd favorite entry I've played from LD26 (and I've been playing a lot of them).

Great mood, great art, overall very satisfying. All that and a Potato, what more can you want?

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55am

Nice game overall. Very nice mechanichs and graphics

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Very very good game, i love these graphics!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

This has a really good atmosphere to it. Both the graphics and audio are great. I'd have liked it if it was obvious where you could and couldn't go though. There are parts where there isn't a ceiling but you can put a rope up, and then other parts where you can't. Good job overall!

FunByJohn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Pretty cool! The art in the first half of the game is really amazing; the characters animations are quite cool, the rope mechanic was fun to learn and play with.

The design of the second area is a little strange though. The black-and-white is great; looks really cool seeing that gleam of white shining through at the entrance, but the plain black boxes are a little boring. It would've looked nice, i think, if you gave them that "rough edge" that the platforms have in the first area.

The wall-collision behaves a little strangely sometimes. It works REALLY well when you're falling, and it feels like you latch onto the wall to save yourself, but when you're just walking around and jumping up steps (like in the first area) it gets a bit tedious how often you catch on to the walls. So maybe the collision isnt the problem, but how you've designed some areas to have these short stair-case like structured that don't utilise the collision well.

Overall guys, really fun little game, I made it right to the end and stole the potato to bring back! This gave makes your strengths very clear (sound design, graphics, a solid engine) and I think with a little more time than 72 hours you could this into something really cool (more graphics, slightly more carefully thought out level design, playtesting) :)

4/5 stars from us :)

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Amazing atmosphere! The only thing that got me was - what am I supposed to do after getting the potato!? I made my way all the way back to the start and there was... nothing...?

Oh, wait - I see, you can only get to the credits screen once you beat it... Well, that's something... still, a clearer YOU WIN screen might have been a nicer reward for my daring potato thieving exploits ;)

Still, you nailed the mood, the graphics are sweet, and the rope mechanic is mostly awesome (a little more force on the swings might have helped - or continued momentum as you swing from rope to rope). Excellent job over all :D

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Loved it! Really superb graphics and gameplay mechanics. The controls just felt.. right. Sweet atmosphere in the caves as well.. <3

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Great Metroidvania style game!

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17pm

The rope physics and gameplay is very good. The universe is huge, it's pretty easy to get lost but it's a fondamental aspect in those kind of exploration game. Maybe the jump control should be improved but I had a great time playing your game. 5 out of 5 for me ;)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Good graphics, I don't really see how it fits the theme. Nice rope mechanics. The physics behaved a bit wonky at times like when you jump against a wall.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22am

Love the art. Enjoyed it!

CNIAngel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:36am

A fun little game. Very enjoyable.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37am

only had a problem when you stop upon casting the rope lol :D:D:D but still i loved how game was made also the lighting is pretty neat. music is also cool adding to the feel. Great game!

dick_claus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:12am

Great job! Enjoyed it :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:06am

Thanks for all the feedback!

karlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I really liked the visuals but found it a little hard to find my way. I always got the feeling I was missing something. It would be great if the explorable area was a little more closed off at the start and areas opened up as you played.

Top marks for the audio, reminded me a little of the opening on super metroid.

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Pretty neat platformer, nice atmosphere!

8BitPimp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I do like games with rope. nice.

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Lovely! Killer atmosphere, flickering light source makes spelunking experience tangible. Would have preferred if rope had shot more diagonally in relation to character movement, but this was fun too.

3.14 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I found the potato and made it back.

Rope physics was a bit strange - when I attach the rope mid-air I would immediately stop, which was unexpected. But that the rope interacts with tiles was a nice touch.

I liked the mood and the feedling of directionless exploration.

nseward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Loved the rope and limited vision.

JokerDen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:38pm

It have great potential or i just like rope mechanic. I had some problems with obstacles detection but art is cool.
Hope you grow this game to some more.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:02am

JokerDen - we are going to build a large game from it.

whilefun says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Pretty cool game, I enjoyed the rope mechanic. I got lost a bit, and couldn't find the end (I assume there is one). Great music, and a good amount of creepy factor :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:16am

Moody and atmospheric treasure hunt with a nifty mechanic. It took me a while before I realized that the bats and critters are just atmosphere and don't hurt you. The collisions are a bit sticky, especially when you jump into walls which can make it a little annoying trying to climb some stairs, but it's not a big deal. I thought the graphics at the beginning were wonderful, but once you got into the cave it was a bit drab and boring. Maybe you could have switched palettes instead of going completely monochrome in the cave. The mechanic with the rope is fun, but I only ended up having to do a "swing-jump" once at the end to get the potato (missed opportunity).

MinionStudios says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:42am

I love it! so fun... if you do a post-comp version, I recommend adding current momentum to new instances of the rope, Spider-Man style!

Xanjos says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Rope mechanic was pretty cool and I really liked the graphics (especially the lighting) and combined with the background music, the mood was just great.

May 20, 2013 @ 11:32am

Nice swinging mechanic! Graphics and sound fit quite well too.

The world is a bit inconsistent though. Somethimes jumping down a chasm is the only way to advance, other times it kills me, eg

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]