April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Law Of Ninjutsu

by bushmango - 48 Hour Compo Entry

how many ninjas
----for your power to amass
today die in vain?

A short game based on the Conservation of Ninjutsu and some bad poetry.

In any action movie, large groups of enemies are very ineffective, and small groups tend to be elite. In this game, become a ninja master by virtue of surviving longer than your peers.

-= On the Theme=-
Minimalism, in my mind, is using the least number of elements to create the maximum effect. I attempted to limit the graphics, controls, and concepts in this game to a minimum. Also, in-game in order to maximize your characters power, you have to minimize your team.

Also: Haikus!

On Friday morning I created a base template with my Axel game library patches and some example code so I could remember how to play sounds, etc. I'll include that template as well for interested parties, although I retain copyright of all code. Feel free to contact me if you are interested in using it.

As always, thanks for playing!

See:
http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/ConservationOfNinjutsu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#85Humor3.50
#129Fun3.58
#234Mood3.31
#249Audio3.22
#316Overall3.42
#494Innovation3.19
#810Theme3.28
#957Graphics2.53

Comments

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Nothing beats Ninjas.. Victory! This is a great game, well done.

shines says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Wow, the aiming on getting them to fight is tough! Cool game though.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Really funny xD. Controls and sound could be better, but the idea its really good.

Adipson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

there was turtles ninjas in game ..no ? lol good

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

A rather clean game. What would be nice if there were a few more game mechanics for enemies, and then if you could choose the level to play.

Nice game!

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Inverse Ninja Law! Five -ninja- stars omg!

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Instant awesome, just add ninja. The best tactic seems to jsut be orcus on his throne and say we have reserves, letting all your mooks be defeated (Never say die).

Anyways: awesome game

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

nice game the GD is minimalist and cool but the ninja background kill a litlle this sensation of the theme.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Great fun! Not 100% sure I knew what I was doing, but fun just watching the carnage. :d

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

The graphics remind me of an old Atari game^^
My favorite part is the awesome sound effects :D

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

HUUUAGH! FIGHT IT OUT!

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

The game was pretty fun and funny.
AI was kind of lame.
Everything was orbiting everything.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Very funny and original take on the theme! Awesome work. Fellow TvTropes addict?

The gameplay is bit of luck based running around, because you need to get your allies kill themselves, and it's tough because of their and the enemies random movement. But otherwise I liked the execution a lot

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

thumbs up for this

bushmango says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

Thanks for all of your kind comments and good feedback! Yes, I'm definitely a TvTropes addict.

As for the AI, well, that's not my strong suit. As for the orbiting, think of it as the martial arts guys circling each other looking for an opening, and lots of dodging and re-positioning.

Teejay5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:04am

the sound effects are absolutely grand.

Alexander says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05am

Really nice feel to the movement, perfect speed and slow deceleration.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

Interesting use of the theme.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:52am

It's "Over 9000"!!!!! lol you got me!!

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:19am

Funny concept, fun game. I found the hit boxes to be way too small so it took ages for the white ninjas to get themselves killed.

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Awesome game and great use of the theme, well done :D

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Ridiculous fun! :)

thatwhichis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Nice play mechanic.

Victory is won! X-D

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Ninjas always fun!
Lost the game two times until read all menu text about ninjitsu laws.
Sounds are great, guess you had a lot of fun recording them XD

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Definitely needs some refinement, but overall I think it was a lot of fun. I would have liked clearer differentiation between the teams.

tompudding says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I loved the sounds, and the idea was cool, nice job

bushmango says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:05pm

@Sebastian -- we would have all liked more refinement ;) As for the differentiation, I kind of wanted the fights to feel chaotic and a little out of control

bushmango says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:05pm

For the sounds, I recorded them with my 6 year old son helping, and yeah we had a lot of fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]