April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

COLORFORM

by torcado194 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello Everyone!
This is my very first Ludum Dare entry!

COLORFORM

You are a color-changing square in a minimalistic world, trying to reach the top of [something] as you hop between platforms. Along your journey you will find many hazards.

The game is difficult but very fun once you get the hang of it. There are 2 modes, the 2nd is unlocked once you finish the game!

YES there is an ending!!
I will write here the name of first person who gets to the ending and comments what it says!

FIRST PLACE: -TO BE DETERMINED-


Thanks to everyone for this opportunity! Good luck to you all!

EDIT: whoops, fixed the web link! should be all good now

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#326Innovation3.42
#487Audio2.81
#505Theme3.58
#526Fun3.02
#546Overall3.18
#713Mood2.73
#821Graphics2.69
#949Humor1.69
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Raw says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Looks great. Unfortunately, I can't get the web version to work. Did you place the *.swf on your Public dropbox folder? Also, you might want to change the Flash download to a Flash Proyector (*.exe), since anybody without Flash (like me) won't be able to open the file (this also makes your game version independent).

torcado194 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:44pm

OH wow thanks a lot. i finally fixed it. i realized i needed the movie value to be the location of the file.
Also unfortunately due to Stencyl's restrictions i cannot upload the .exe, but you can download the flash player that plays the files or you could just open it in your browser

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56am

Fun game, but challenging until I got the hang of it. And I dig the soundtrack!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

@cahman haha thanks a lot! did you get to the end? and yes i figured people would find it more difficult than I because I spent 30+ hours playing it

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

Man that's a blast. I really like the mechanic. Though the woooooooooooooo of the progress meter (before change) could gated more. The soundtrack is nice.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

Quite hard. But I won't say it wasn't fun!

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

That was cool, I felt the tutorial was a little slow but as soon as I was past that I had a blast.

Killswitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

It looks great. Also, it's unique; the player's color must match with the platform it steps on.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice work! I think it fit the minimal theme very well too - you weren't lying when you said it was hard.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

I like the idea, but it really needs a way to skip the tutorial messages after you die.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

This game puts an interesting spin on the change-player's-color gameplay mechanic. I'm generally not too fond of it, but the timing aspect makes it a lot more palatable. The soundtrack is good, too.

lambomang says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Is there a way to skip the tutorial at the beginning? It's kinda irritating having to sit through that again every time you die.
Other than that, it's a good game.

notajetski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

really, really hard!

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

Very challenging and unique game. I love color-based puzzle games, and this one is simple, but very well-executed. As has already been mentioned, restarting after death is a tad slow, and the sound effect of the bar resetting gets old after awhile.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

Quite difficult, but a great concept. Is there any way to skip the initial "how-to-play" explanation at the beginning after dying. It was a bit annoying to have to sit through that each time.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

I like the colors you used and the simplicity. the idea is very good. If you are planning to polish it, I would maybe think about trying to find an easier way to change colors, sometimes it's difficult but challenging, which is good :).

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Thanks everyone! yes i realize the tutorial restarting each death is annoying, but it would be difficult to make that not happen programming-wise. and yes, i should make the cycle sound quieter. I will do this! thanks for the feedback! I'm still waiting for someone to see the ending! haha you'll love it

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

Gnarly execution of theme. Clever use of color-context controls! this could be fun with multiplayer (platform racing)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

Fun game, got to 11k+ points and after that inevitability of tutorial got me.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Mind bendingly hard for me!

Nice job!

hughsk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Pretty difficult at first, but nice overall :) Would be great if there were a way to skip the opening tutorial!

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Great job - the learning curve is pretty high, put once you get the hang of it, it's a really fun game. Will definitely be coming back to play this in the future.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

thanks for all the great feedback everyone!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

OK I fixed everything that everyone has asked for! the version will be up later in a separate category! :D

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

ALRIGHT! i updates the game and everyone should be happy! (besides ulrta difficulty status) :D

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

I like the concept! It sticks to the theme and provides a challenge.

Atridas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Really nice work! I had a hard time playing this and I'll may return later to beat my highscore!

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Was a little confused at first, but then it turned out to be playable and challenging. Perhaps use a few different sounds while the colour changer is charging, a different sound for each colour would be interesting and give the player a break from the same sound, and as already mentioned skip the tutorial once it has already been seen. Well Done =]

JohnnySix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:01am

The concept is cool - but the sound effect for the side bar and 303 bassline get a bit repetitive after a while, and not knowing what random colour is coming next makes it extremely difficult to play. If the bars changed colour with a sweep from right to left, so you could see that blue was becoming pink, or something similar, it'd allow a little reaction time. :)

Milo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:20am

I found this somewhat too difficult - I died a whole lot without getting much better. Usually, when every platform was only one of two colors, I had issues. The music was really awesome though, and I had to keep trying for quite a while before I found it necessary to give up.

Zemmi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:00am

That was fun, really wanted to beat it but that unskippable tutorial is a real downer. Wish it were skippable but other than that I really enjoyed the challenge.

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:34am

Nice concept, quite tricky. Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:50am

Hey. Web working on Chrome. Have rated even though post-compo as it seems you had some issues with export from other comments. Idea feels undeveloped somehow. It's a bit harsh timingwise... more complex than a jumper like doodlejump (in terms of what you must do to stay put)... constant siren gets v. annoying! Good job on first entry and with Stencyl.

TravisChen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:41am

One of the most fun games I've played yet. Great work!

mikeware says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:52am

Wow, this is really hard. Maybe I shouldn't be playing it so late at night. I like the concepts behind this, but I think with the cycle of four, having a slower cycle time to start could help. Also, maybe only starting with a couple of colors. It felt really harsh when I hit the wrong key and would fall from the top to the bottom instead of just one platform below me.

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:13pm

This is a lot of fun, but it can get quite confusing with 4 colors, would have loved to map the buttons somewhere else... and that unskippable tutorial...

glbs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Nice! I much like the mechanics based on the colors, and your game requires a lot of coordination (that I obviously lacks seeing my score) and that kind of brain twist is pretty fun

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:00pm

It would be nice to have an option to make it easier for people who are colourblind.

torcado194 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:26am

@Alucard J having a different sound for each color doesnt make sense since all colors are on screen at all times.
@JohnnySix the colors arent random, they cycle from red to pink to green to blue, indicated by the tutorial text and the colors at the top right
@Milo yes the 2 colors at a time thing was a bug that would be annoying to fix, but it only happens at the beginning

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:12am

having to sit through the tutorial every time I die gets annoying..

torcado194 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:11pm

thats what the updated version is for!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]