April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure!

by Mach60KAS - Jam Entry

Play as Dirk Danger, intrepid adventurer as he goes on the ultimate minimalist adventure! How, you ask?

...He left his weapons at home, and he's about to find himself trapped in the temple of flaming skulls! Guide our (slightly angry) friend with an uncontrollable penchant for stomping to the exit and grab as much gold as you can!
________________________________________________________
Coded in Javascript and HTML from scratch, all assets by myself (with the character sprite heavily based on ALTTP Link).

CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys - Move

You have just one life, so take care when you seek out all that glorious treaure!

For best viewing experience, please use Chrome. Firefox acts a little flaky sometimes and Safari doesn't support .ogg audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#134Graphics(Jam)3.73
#287Humor(Jam)2.08
#299Mood(Jam)2.84
#320Overall(Jam)2.98
#337Theme(Jam)3.11
#339Fun(Jam)2.73
#390Audio(Jam)2.22
#490Innovation(Jam)2.12

Comments

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

T'was fun to play, liked the monotone color scheme. Solid entry.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Got $325! I win! Great submission! The tiny pixel graphics are super well done and the gameplay is smooth. I wish that is was longer. One minor complaint is the focus for the arrow keys forces the webpage to scroll, but that might just be my browser...

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very cool game - the visuals are really nice, especially that colour palette!

Not sure if I was doing something wrong or not, but in Chrome on my Mac, the page kept scrolling with the up and down arrow keys. I tried clicking on the game screen to get focus multiple times but couldn't get it to stop. Fun stuff though :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Whoops, I'll need to make it focus to the game canvas (Oops!). It works on my screen resolution (1920x1200), I had forgotten to consider that. I'll get that in ASAP!

Xgor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Too short, Neat graphics though

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Pros: Very very nice graphics and a difficulty level that was just about right for me. =)
Cons: Felt a bit short, (probably because i liked it)

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

The previous comments covered it all, well done!

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Pretty cool. Good job :)

ramoncb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Well done! Simple, polished, really cool pixel-art and pretty hard (for me ^^) ! Good work!

brookman32k says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23am

This is a nice little game. Like other said, it's too short. I like the visual style of the graphics (and also the perspective of the dungeon walls).

May 5, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I like the look of this one! Perhaps you could try some random level generation and take it further.

lorancou says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:34pm

OK, I won. This was minimal :)

Tifu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:50am

Should probably have less health, it's pretty easy to just force your way to the treasure in the difficult parts, get all the treasure, and still win. If there had been more levels too that would have been awesome, and solved that exploit :)

swizzcheez says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Cute game and follows the theme very well. Nice job!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Cute!

ryuurei says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Very nice and minimal looking. The sprites all look very good and so does the cave(?). I like how this feels like a less ridiculous version of The Hardest Game Ever (or something like that).
It would have been really nice to have some mild music, and at least a level or two more would have been nice.

kibertoad says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:45pm

everything looks kinda too small. a shame, otherwise it's pretty.

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:25am

Really cool graphics! The game is fun, but a bit too short, since it was really fun to play. Great job!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:16am

HA HA! What a great game! Love the art, and good use of theme.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:29am

First of all, thank you for commenting on my game <3 I responded to you on my page.

You have way too much life. I know you probably don't want to lose all your limbs and organs in the dungeon, but you can get all the gold without worrying about dying, so long as you are quick enough.

It is hard to know where exactly the skulls are because sometimes they are over the wall, some times not, and collision detection is a bit shaky. However, it is a good, solid submission. Congratulations!

Misael.K says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:05am

I agree with everything the other commenters said.
What I liked: the consistent palette, the sounds, the graphical style.
What I didn't like: my hitbox! couldn't figure for the life of me how large I was, enemies kept hitting me. It's also very short, I assumed there would be more levels. Would've loved to hear some Famitracker music here.
All in all, good job!

May 20, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Solid effort for 48 hours. Agree with virtually all above critiques.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]