April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boximalism

by poohshoes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Boximalism is a Flash game written in NME and Haxe, and using the Flash Develop IDE. Given that this was my first time making a game in NME I think it turned out pretty nice.

I also used Paint.Net and Audacity (Audacity where have you been all my life!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Innovation4.05
#135Theme4.04
#266Mood3.24
#340Audio3.06
#563Overall3.16
#652Graphics2.91
#714Humor2.00
#874Fun2.64

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

That's a really unique game. The build up is pretty amazing too! Good job.

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Entrancing, but confusing.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

That was really interesting! Thanks.

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

Kind of confusing. I'm not quite sure what to do. I like all the color.

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

I have no idea what to do.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

Wow. It's quite hard to catch how to do first, but after I got it this turned into cool art game. But humming sound is quite weird. lol.

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Very very interesting. Had to play it several times before I figured out the rules. Got up to 42! Very interesting how you have to sort the objects. I sort of relied on the shapes turning dark to sort rather than my own judgement.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

SPOILERS:
I wanted it to be a bit of a discovery game but if you want to know how to play:
The boxes like their personal space, in each game 2 of the 3 traits that they dislike in other boxes will be chosen. Your goal is to position them so that you can fit as many on the screen at a time as possible. The boxes hum louder, breathe faster, and get darker when they are close to things they don't like. The 3 traits of which only 2 are chosen for each round are the Total Area of a box, the Colour of a box, and the Squareiness of a box (like squares vs rectangles).
I hope that helps.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

Strange but interesting.
Managed to reach 45

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

Very unique, the breating box animation as a feedback signal was really cool. Do the traits they care about vary each playthrough?

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

Visuals are great, sounds remember me Massai chants. But... I didn't understand anything...

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

Confusing at first, but fun :)

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

Great. Very innovative! Love the sound effects.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

@karsyf yes, they do vary, 2 of the 3 traits are chosen (being colour, area, and squareness).

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

I was a bit confused about colour - thought lightness was part of a shape rather than an indicator of its happiness. Really interesting game!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

The audio gives a very clear explanation of what you have to do, still a bit strange though.

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

Cool concept !

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Could not understand it at first. I made a rainbow: it exploded.

then I red the comments. Got to 36

yinbar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54am

It captures the theme quite well. The throbbing effects and colouring do a good job showing the distress of each shape.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

mhhh honestly i didn't understand the rules, what do i have to do again?

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I like the interesting concept and feedback. At first I didn't know what to do, but your additional information helped. It was especially unclear to me, if a lower or higher score is better. The idea of a discovery game fits the theme well.

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:19pm

It would've been more engaging if there was a more direct feedback to a good move vs a bad move. Otherwise innovative game :)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I'm not sure what was happening, but it was colourful

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

That was actually pretty cool, took me a while to understand it though :D

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

It's pretty amazing and weirdly funny. I ended believing that those squares were persons. I love weird games!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I really like the idea, it's very unique. I wasn't sure what to do on my first play but I figured it out eventually. Good game, nice sound work.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Very interesting, fun once you get what to do

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Took a while to figure out. Interesting concept!

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Great. Best Ld26 game I played so far. I grasped the concept the second time though but it's part of the fun

Yarek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

It's a nice game very unique. At first it was a bit of a pain to learn how to play but then everything started to make sense. Good job !

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

I like it. The crowd is super cool. Neat concept.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

Once I figured out how to play: wonderful.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:44am

After realizing how it works, find this game amazing and very meditating.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

Cool concept. Had to play a while to figure out what was going on and only ultimately grasped it when I read your comment on the mechanics.

karlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

Very interesting mechanic. I love the way you've used sound to guide the player although it took me a while to realize the humming was actually a bad thing.

Alink says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:06am

Fascinating, and the execution is fantastic. The cryptic (but important) instructions also adds a nice layer of mystery.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Even when you understand the idea, there is a lot of depth to the mechanics of it. This is a wonderful game experiment and a success!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Once you get the rules this game shows a nice challenge. Nice work.

Msquirrel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Very Nice, Very Minimal, cool little concept!

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Not sure about what I had to do.. =/

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I love how subtle this game is. The feedback each box gives back is perfect, especially the audio.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Really cool game. I think you could provide a hint or two at the beginning about keeping boxes next to the neighbors that they like without giving away spoilers about all of the rules in the game.

ethankennerly says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Cool! The whirring sound and undulating boxes interested me. The explosion of the boxes surprised me.

May 18, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Boximalism: A game about racism.

haha, really though nicely done, I enjoyed it!

Drabiter says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:15am

Thanks for @poohshoes for the rule.

Aceria says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Odd, but interesting.

foxter888 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:02pm

it is a bit foncusing about trying to know what to do. yet it is so simple. the sound does become a bit irritating after a while lol. then again i see you need to separate them or so.

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:16am

Cool game! The concept is really interesting, though I couldn't figure it out on my own. It was fun to play, but the breathing soundeffect was a little annoying after a while. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]