April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robo-Sheriff: Minimalising Crime

by spiral - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Almost made it! I had to work both of the days of the compo and I had some PC issues at in-opportune times.... so here's what was running at the end!

I streamed most of it. Captured time lapse too..
Time Lapse: http://youtu.be/2FoVU4dv_uU
http://www.twitch.tv/bluntgames/

---

A rogue deputy has betrayed your trust and left you for dead.

Take your town back.

---

Controls: arrows, space to jump / double jump

---

I keep saying I'll try to focus more on gameplay for these things but I always end up bogged down fiddling with some art or sound or something like that.

Next time I think I'll make sure to have a working game prototype with cubes FIRST!!.. might end up with game that plays better.

Lots of bugs to fix and I'll probably play with this a bit more.. add some of the things I was planning on but ran out of time with. A big gun would go down well. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#146Graphics3.79
#399Humor2.49
#703Audio2.45
#1003Mood2.40
#1167Fun2.21
#1169Overall2.50
#1282Innovation1.91
#1324Theme2.25

Comments

DDDBOMBER says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Really like the art style in this, well done

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

This sheriff character is so boss. I found the game very, very difficult. Great music and art.

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

I would like the boss to have a gun or something like that , shoot cubes! hehe
good graphics

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

The art is good but i'm afraid that's the best about it. You're right, do the sounds quickly, don't even think about composing something, something generated by autotracker or from a free music website is enough. You didn't go for western but for robo music which fits the mood.

Where to do gaps start? I think it takes the very bottom/front of the boards for collision and not the middle where the robot is standing.

Is it on purpose that those red baddies can walk over gaps when I can't? In Super Mario they turn around and don't do silly things. Am I supposed to just avoid them or shoot them? And I can stand on their heads!

Those are all little things but for any platformer they are the first priority, before music or art.

PS: I managed to "minimalise" my opponent and save my deputy. hurray :D

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

Haha cute, the characters made me smile ;) I feel like the movement was too slow though, still well done! :=)

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

The art style was nice. I didn't like the music so much, was a bit too repetitive for my taste.

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

The art is great. I found the music got a bit annoying. I also found the game very hard until i discovered double-jump

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

I like the graphics and the style, but I still don't find the whole experience... minimal. The physics were a tad buggy, but still usable. :D

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

Love the art & music.

Gameplay: the jump distance is too short. Stops the gameflow too quickly. Alternative controls (WASD) would be nice, as would instructions on the controls at all.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Interesting art style.
The collision detection for the the gaps feels very unfair to me though.

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

a bit confusing :(

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Nice concept, but some of the core mechanics seem to be quite rough. The art is nice.

bernhard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I liked the painted look together with the used graphics filtering and the game got easy once I started to use the double jump. It seems really hard to make 2D games in Unity is what I learned :-)

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

The art is really cool and the music made me feel like a Terminator in the wild west or something like that. Those pits are nasty!

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

I love the graphics and the robo-cowboy concept, but the game mechanics need a little work. Nice job though, given the time and PC issues you had. Keep going!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53am

Love the aesthetic and love the character you came up with. Controls might feel a bit too tight. But great job otherwise!

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Nice little game, really rough in gameplay but the art style is beautiful

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Very cool art style. I struggled with the jumps though. It kept me from getting too far with it. Felt a little slow and unresponsive. Kind of wish he had a gun or something, as well - he's a sheriff AND a robot after all ;) Keep going with it :)

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Graphics is amazing! You should have adjusted the controls in reasonable amount. Good job!

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:12am

Well honestly I can't rate this too high. But I loved the work you did on the visual aspect! If you are having problems with logic for your games, maybe consider teaming up with a programmer. I think the result will be awesome.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:52am

Hahahha great graphics! love it :D

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:47am

Movement was a bit off, making the jumping/platform tricky. But the art was nice.

kyru says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Neat start to something here. Solid enough on the platforming. I like the look a lot.

Gremlin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Wasn't really fond of the way the character controlled. Made it much harder than it needed to be and felt less fun than it could. If you haven't read it yet, you might want to check out the book "Game Feel". It'll help you get solid-feeling controls with less trial-and-error.

I do like the scanline effect.

someone says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

The artistic style was nice, but the game didn't play very well. It was hard to figure out where the gaps actually started and often felt like it was restarting for no reason due to the lack of falling/dying animations.

Infin8 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:16am

Robot was clunky. I see u just made the robots spawn over and over from the right, neat programming trick, works with the level desing u have

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]