April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defender.

by Tainted_Code - Jam Entry

------------ WARNING ------------
[THIS GAME IS INTENTIONALLY HARD]


Remember the old days, where games were super hard to complete, but when you did complete them you got a warm and happy feeling inside? Yep. That's what we have done here.

We spent our weekend dedicated to this game. We know it may not be the best but a lot of effort went into this game, and we mean a lot! The graphics artist did a phenomenal job given only 4 shades of a color to work with.

We though when it came to minimalism, the main priorities would be 'controls', 'objectives' and 'theme'. Hence why we chose 1 Control (drag catapult), 1 Objective (defend), and the 4 Color theme.

We'd appreciate it so much if we got your vote. It really means a lot! Anyway, you can stop reading the notes now and actually play the game! ;)


------------ HINTS ------------
[USE THE CATAPULT TO FIRE (HOLD/DRAG)]
[YOU CANNOT HIT BOSS WHILST IT'S MOVING]


Cheers,
Joey + Tomas + Dade

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#22Graphics(Jam)4.43
#61Audio(Jam)3.74
#138Mood(Jam)3.40
#140Overall(Jam)3.48
#197Theme(Jam)3.48
#208Fun(Jam)3.06
#245Humor(Jam)2.26
#300Innovation(Jam)2.88

Comments

Milktoast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

This is incredible! Great game.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

Love the retro feel. The graphics, the difficulty, the sound, all go together great.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

Thankyou!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

wow good thing i got my gaint slingshot set up before I went to bed in my tent ;) super creative and the art is stunning!

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

Couldn't figure out how to actually hit what I assume was the enemy, although I think I knocked down one of the towers myself. Is that a thing? Still, the look and sound of the game is amazing, given the constraints. Your graphics artist did do an amazing job.

Pre-post edit: Yeah, now I read that you can't hit the boss while moving. Why not?

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00am

Ahaha - glad you enjoyed! @jpverkamp if you look carefully, he spins very fast when moving so the bullet if deflected. Didn't have enough time to implement the reflection!

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Great graphics.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54am

Defended! Great stuff, enjoyed that and really loved the style :)

Not too hard once you know how to aim. Could have done with a restart option after being defeated the first time (or even when I won).

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56am

Nice! The first time was difficult. The second time easy. But I liked feeling impotent the first time, even helping the enemy destroying the towers. (stahp!)

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

loved the graphics and theme and ominous spinning death cube. gameplay is promising but a little slow, i would like it better if he destroyed the city faster but took fewer hits to kill.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

Incredible pixel art style.
Good work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58am

This gets the Defense-feel quite right.

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59am

Man, I couldn't hit the boss not even a single time! xD I even completely f*cked up a building myself :D

Pretty nice game, a Game Boy frame would have been awesome :)

Thanks!

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

great style. straight from a world where the original gameboy had touch controls

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03am

So i think i helped the boss a lot by shooting at buildings instead of him ! For adding fun i think a second catapult or a better reload time would have been great !

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39am

Thanks for your feedback guys! I would have added restart button but this entry was JUST in time with a few minutes to spare - sorry!

Thanks for all your kind words, means a lot!

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

Awesome game! Enjoyed the graphics and the theme in the game itself. Is this even possioble for such simple game?!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Cheers ;)

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Super hard but amazing graphics. Like an alternate dimension gameboy game

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Loved the graphical touches in the game 9the spinning, the passing by tumbleweed, the building decay when being destroyed), and this was extended to gameplay appeal (hitting your own buildings to hurt them). The music was catchy, and while difficult at first, once you had a grasp it was a good time. I would say it might be cool to see this extended with more mechanics, but the simplicity was also appealing. The curve of the aim felt a bit off at times (either in favor or out of favor), though with the 2D structure it was a bit understandable.

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45pm

The game boy retro style is very pleasant, but it's too damn difficult to aim the cube. Overall it's good program but not a game :D

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Again, thanks guys!
@Yoni, that was the style we went for! :)

@AestheticGamer, thanks for the kind words and yeah, I had a big problem with this perspective!

@noa Thanks :) It is intentionally difficult, and what do you mean by it's not a game? It's by definition a game :)

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I really loved the overall aesthetic on there. Game Boy!
The game is certainly hard even after playing it for quite some time. The aim is just... well.. plain hard
Core mechanics are simple and effective.
Wish I could easily replay the level since I got beaten so bad several times.

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Great simple game. Found it hard as hell to aim at first, but finallllly got the hang of it near the end. Love the gameboy art style look. How do you do that?!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

@Hardycore - Its a simple CRT effect :) The game was designed with 4 shades of one colour only!

@Psenflip Cheers man - means a lot!

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Ahah !

When I launched the game, it reminded me that gold old GameBoy... I mean the ratio, the 4 shades and the sound...
I wanted to check for sure so I printed screen to paint and checked the resolution...

640x576... the same ratio as the gameboy's 160x144... magnified 4 times :)

Anyway, a very nice game : 4 stars

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26pm

@alcazar - I know, it was designed for the original screen size then we scaled it x4 ;) Thanks!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Hey I really like the graphics style but it's really a pitty that the rope from the slingshot and the text are high resolution. I think you should have work on a small resolution ( the bg size for example ), draw your game in a BitmapData then scaling it to the display size you want. By doing so, the drawn lines pixel would fit the bg artwork. Nice entry, I had fun playing it. I spend my whole first game trying to land one single damage without success. After that my first hit in second game was a misclick o_O. Difficult but fun, especillay when you crush your own city.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

@Benjamin - Yeah. I know, it was my fault. I should have also made movement snap to 4 pixels but I just didn't come prepared I guess! We're remaking this outside of Ludum Dare and making it complete :)

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

It's bloody hard, that's for certain. Who outsourced Earth defense to Rovio?? Would have loved some kind of indication where bullet is travelling depth-wise, shadow or something... That being said, graphics and audio are pretty much pitch perfect if nostalgia was the aim. Song is catchy as hell!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

@kyyninen Ahaha! I'm sorry - I've mentioned before how close to the deadline this game was submitted, that was indeed on the feature list! A nostalgic feel is what we were aiming for though, so thankyou! :)

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

EPIC. Difficult, as you warned. Great music, art. As mentioned, the shadow indicator would be nice. In trying to get the shots initially, it helped to remind myself that despite the artwork, this is probably a 2D game internally :)

Minor gripes: Didn't see any way to get back to the title screen after a defeat. I had to exit the game and restart. As mentioned, the shadow on terrain would be nice, but I understand how that could take some time. You might have to mask and draw two different versions for the different elevations.

Minor art gripe: the perspective on the buildings looks like you swapped the order at the last second. I approve from a gameplay standpoint -- that last tall building is a kick in the goolies -- but, well, when a game looks so good, these are the flaws you notice.

Griz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Wonderful music and demanding gameplay requiring the player to get hang of the aiming system. After couple of tries I finally got the annoying flying square boss thing.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I like the look, I like the sounds, I like the polish (the string does look weirdly clean compared to everything else. Your right, it was hard and I did feel good about finishing it. Two sort of things that got to me:

A)It's hard to tell when you have screwed up so badly that you should just restart. Maybe this was deliberate, so take that with a grain of salt.

B)If the theme is "old games are hard", the best old hard games were ones that had very tight and clear controls. They just gave you really difficult challenges. Aiming in 3 isometric dimensions with only 2 dimensions of information and input is much harder than the actual goal.

I think that the overall structure of timing your shots against the enemy attacks is very well executed.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Limit gameplay. You were right about it being difficult, I don't think I hit him once! The soundtrack and sound effects were great as well as the feel of the game and graphics.

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Nice, although the perspective is a little odd on the catapult so it takes a while to figure out how to aim.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Thanks guys!

I've previously mentioned about the restarting - the game didn't have enough time to implement that at the end - sorry!

I wanted to add a line-of-sight sort of thing. It would allow better gameplay but once again - time got in the way!

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Nice game. Pretty damn fun. Catapults are always the way to go.

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Awesome!
good music, good graphics.. I love the way it crashes down with mass :)

MaxguN says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05am

Nicely done. Defended on second try after two building destroyed. I really enjoyed the retro style and the physics.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

I totally felt like I was back in 1989 playing on my Nintendo Gameboy! Awesome use of theme. 5 stars!

CappaGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

Liked the art style and the challenging gameplay.

Evil Cult says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:30am

Nice game. I found that it took a little while to get my first hit in but after that I found it a bit too easy to line up my shots. Love the gameboy style feel to it and I think you worked the theme in pretty well!

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08am

Thanks guys! :)

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:13am

I really liked the use of the original Game Boy palette in your game. It's a bit hard to aim in 2D to hit something with depth at the start but fun nonetheless.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Yay, after the 4th time I could defended it, it was fun, I liked the retro style.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

LOVE the retro style. awesome game. more levels plz :)

alvivar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:38am

i defeated myself :(

May 2, 2013 @ 8:07am

Music and art were great. Found aiming frustrating due to the angle and perspective and that hurt enjoyment.

The Consul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Very nice looking graphics and good sounding sound. The perspective makes it very hard to aim though.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:21pm

The graphics are superb. Whilst it's true I felt satisfaction from finally hitting the cube, it didn't feel fair. I didn't feel like I was learning how to aim in that really weird perspective so much as feeling around in the dark - every time the cube moved I had to start from the beginning.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Really good looking game, the slingshot angle is a learning curve, but that's half the fun, all done well for a 2D perspective. A challenge that I enjoyed greatly, well done =]

Tainted_Code says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:16am

Thanls for the feedback guys! I've only just started to read a huge book on Game Design and I'm starting to see areas where I went wrong! So thankyou all again for your feedbacl! The next entry will be much more promising!

PPLo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:13pm

This flying cube is freaking hard to beat!
Good overall performance. I loved the gameboy feeling :)
Thumbs up!

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:11am

Thanks man, means a lot!

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:40pm

This game feels pretty cool. The first time is a real pain, but once you know where to position your mouse, it's no real challenge anymore. That you can damage the buildings on your own was really awesome.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Looks and sounds great, and as you said, it's pretty hard, mostly because you have to figure out the angle to shoot at.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Thanks guys, and I know, the angle is poor :(

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:16pm

So difficult, but good! Reminds me of the original gameboy games.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I like the graphics and the idea. It's really hard to hit the enemy, it's easier to destroy the towers. If the game window is maximized, you can see the background scrolling outside the striped area.

Jeremias says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice visuals and audio, especially the background music. Nonetheless it is quite fiddly to shoot in the direction where I want to shoot at :D

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Pretty hard to aim. The art is nice, and I like the surreal scenario, minimalist yet high-stakes: "Ready the slingshot! A cube is mashing!"

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Loved the visuals and sounds - particularly the sounds - but could have done with some hint of depth.

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:42am

Great graphics. It looks like a mix between Megaman and Evangelion for Gameboy. :D What a pity it's hard to target the cube because of the special perspective.

MinionStudios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:05pm

DEFENDED. It is kind of easy, but really freaking cool.

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:28am

Beautifully simple game. Love the graphics and sound. Targeting is super hard, and I unfortunately was defeated many many times. I blew up so many of my own buildings, and more than once saw my projectile pass through the cube which was frustrating.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Thanks ladies and gents :) We know, it's super hard and perspective is off (we didn't have enough time to fix it)

@dalbinblue - You can't hit the enemy whilst it is moving (or slamming) but we didn't have enough time to implement something that would show you that in game, sorry!

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:00am

Amazing art style! Had a heckuva time judging whether I'd hit the cube or not. Reading the comments, it may be the deflection thing you were talking about though.

davidpeter says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

The graphics are insanely gorgeous. It got pretty easy the second time since I put a thumb on the screen to mark where my mouse had been last and just kept hitting the cube that way ;)

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:55pm

An interesting concept and executed well. I managed to complete it on the first go with one building left.

Also, insane music! I'm leaving this on in the background. :D

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I ragequit after 10 minutes of hard tries, but the game really hooked me, which is cool :)
Art style is great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]