April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TunnelVision

by wzl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

#######################
Now Runs on NVIDIA Chipsets TOO!
#######################

*** Public Service announcent ***
If you got an [Error] saying "No Error", it obviously is no error =]. It just means you have an Intel Chipset, which outputs its shader compile log not like "compiled successfully" but "no error", in which case my parsing fails and it thinks its and error. It should work anyways if you just click through the 'error' boxes.

#######################


Minimalism?! I didn't ask for this!

[Summary]
You are a Space Ship commander by the name of Lord Nelson of Galactica and you need to find and destroy the mainbase of the enemy fleet general that annihilated your home planet. In this space opera you will experience the whole spectrum of emotions when the protagonist fights through his opponents cleverly laid traps in an epic endless struggle for mankind!

[Summary - revised]
Gems make fast - get to the goal!

Controls:
[A][W][S][D] / ArrowKeys to move
[Q][E] to roll, but it doesn't serve a purpose at this point.

[R] Restart level
[F5] Skip Level

HaxMode:
[+] Increase Speed
[-] Decrease Speed
[Enter] Stop


#######################
Post-Compo Suggestions/Intentions:
#######################

Option to invert/customize controls!
Fixed camera behavior (ugh)
Fix ship controls (yuk)
Now that rendering works, render more STUFF :D
More Tracks
A nicer ship models (maybe even textured!)
A Random/Endless track (lets see how this turns out)

#######################

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#50Audio3.80
#81Graphics4.00
#109Fun3.61
#234Mood3.31
#251Overall3.49
#826Humor1.87
#836Innovation2.76
#1018Theme3.02

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Keep on getting error messages when trying to play it. Real shame, because it looks/sounds really quite fantastic.

Error message: http://i.imgur.com/dXL31Mo.png

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Same as Perry. :(

wzl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Yeah Ati drivers are my bane every LD. I'll try to find someone who can help me debug it for Nvidia adapters. A fixed version should be up later today or perhaps tomorrow.

Sorry for that ;/

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Same here, and I have NVIDIA, look fun, will be waiting for never versions.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

After a bunch of warning messages, the game launches like this (music is awesome!): http://gyazo.com/582176f408916377b510d9a6d15e0aca

NVDIA GeForce GTX 580

IceCliff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

I couldn't play it. I just kept getting errors. A shame, it looks good.

MetalCanine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Got some slightly different errors: http://imgur.com/hvTDMjv

I'm really excited about playing this! Error Messages inlcude:
default 0(11):warning C7533: global variable gl_FragColor is deprecated after version 120
postprocessing 0(11):warning C7533: global variable gl_FragColor is deprecated after version 120
backdrop 0(10):warning C7011:implicit cast from "int" to "float"
And then the debugger spits out
An unhandled exception of type 'System.TypeInitializationException' occurred in AC.AL.dll
Additional information: The type initializer for 'AC.AL.Platforms.BaseContext' threw an exception.

Hope this helps?

wzl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Thanks for the detailed reports everyone.

Yes i uploaded a version that fixed the errors mentioned before. Now that introduced new ones. Unfortunately i don't have an Nvidia card to test it myself so it is a lot of back-and-forth remote-debugging.

The ACAL error is new though. I'll get the latest build and see if it helps :)

I'll let you know when it is 'fixed' :D

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Aside from the camera and collision bugs (which really screw with you a lot), it's a fun game. Awesome music.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Could use an option to invert vertical controls. The art style is very cool, traveling through the tunnels is very trippy in an awesome way. Glad to finally get a chance to play it without errors.

spliter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:36pm

This game is sweet as hell.
The music is really cool, and while at the beginning I was thinking "well, this is a bit easy..." by the end I was smashing through walls at top speed and having loads of fun doing it.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:41am

Didn't work on my current machine, looks really good though! Will try it when I get home :)

NeiloGD says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

If the game crashes, everyone just install the OpenAL runtimes. I've told wzl to pack the DLLs in for future :)


Runtimes: http://connect.creativelabs.com/developer/Wiki/OpenAL%20Installer%20for%20Windows.aspx

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:51pm

This game is certainly good. I like the feel when I hit highspeed. On top of that, the music adds up quite nicely.
I like the graphics choices a lot. Colors and meshes included.

Sometimes I got a weird feeling on very steep curves... either the controls were slow for that maneuver or the camera was not catching up fast enough. I can't say exactly what it is.

Notes for improvements:
* inverted pitch controls (default/option)
* metrics ASAP. Keep track of your tests data so that you can build up your game content (medals, rewards, what not) on top of that

May 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it. :( (Win XP, 32bit)

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Nvidia GTX 670, the player ship is always solid white, and the gems are mostly solid-white with a few occasional suggestions of yellow. But apart from that, worked fine for me, and brought back fond memories of similar shareware games I used to play as a teenager. Very fun game!

8BitPimp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Looks nice and runs fine for me on my ATI card. I somehow got regularly confused and couldn't figure out if the controls were inverted. My brain isn't designed for these kind of space games I think. Nice job.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

This game is AMAZING! 5/5 and wow, great gob! Audio/Gfx and Gameplay were awesome!

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really great! I loved the music and the level design. The visual appeal of the rings was really interesting! Would like to see some more content in the future making the levels more interesting =A

//Udrian

davidB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Is it possible to invert Y controls ?

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:05pm

This is a wild game! Picking up the diamonds increases your speed, but also move the ship forward, making it harder to judge distance from the obstacles. Good work on the spinning rings, sooo trippy.

Zener says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:24pm

It works for me, it's visually impressive, looks like demoscene stuff. And plays super well, good job!

wzl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Thanks all! Glad to see that it seems to be working now for everyone!

Yeah the art is inspired by demos, and i want to get further into that direction. We'll see what i can come up with ;)

A Y-Invertion setting will be available in the post-compo version.

Perry says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:53pm

So glad you fixed your entry. :D. Played it immediately. Was very impressed.

martijn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:06pm

One of the better entries

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Great game. I loved the gfx and the music was ok. But playing inverted would be so great. I mean it is hard to go up when you think you're going down. So when things get complicated it is difficult - well at least for me - not to go out the tunnels. But overall it's great for a 48 hours work. Bravo :)

May 2, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I hear music playing, but i get a blank window and an error message saying "0:2(10): error: GLSL 1.50 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10 and 1.20."

Must I downgrade whatever the heck GLSL is? I really want to check this out.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I'm running Windows in a VM on my MAC using VMware Fusion btw.

IceCliff says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Every nice work!

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Wah, yeah works now. Great. Somehow controls throw me off sometimes but otherwise great game man.

NuSan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:21am

I like it, nice graphic style, good music. The game itselft is interesting, but somehow i always confuse up and bottom key ^^. I think a proper end, with final score, would be nicer than a loop. Keep up the good work!

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:27pm

A good start, but clearly needs some more mechanical development. Not too much for me to say that has never been said.

Rebel Assault II!

Norgg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Shiny and wubby! I cheated my way through horribly, refusing to jump through hoops, but it looks and sounds awesome.

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Great game!. This is sooo retro, which is awesome. I had some trouble to get used to the controls and wished for my joystick back from the 90s ;). Game feels very complete in style, gameplay and appearence. Good job (again).

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:49am

Nice visual effect. But I think the control isn't enough reactiv.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:31am

Vaguely reminds me of the Wipeout games, only not tethered to a track. Very nice, but I couldn't get the + and - to modify my speed, which was disappointing because I wanted to just amp up my speed ridiculously.

Regardless, looks and sounds beautiful; I loved playing it.

Komradus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:00am

The collision detection could use a little bit of tweaking and some mouse control would be great. Other than that amazing work, really fun game.
Oh and it's pretty easy to get disoriented and fly in the wrong direction.

Pokemonsta says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:36am

where is the link?

The Consul says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:37am

Doesn't work so well on my Win 8. Keep getting popups at the very beginning telling me: "No Error"

Pokemonsta says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:40am

yeah I got errors too

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very nice. Love the background and the music.
Tried running in Wine, it ran but flickered like mad and wouldn't accept input.
Worked fine in windows though. Used xpadder to use a gamepad and invert the controls which made things much easier.

The Consul says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Hey. Saw your comment on my page, thanks for playing!

I click through the 5 popups, and then get 2 more and a black screen (with soundtrack) where a bitmap font says "Lighting failed: upload texture " (and then it's cut off by the window). I also get the same results if I run as admin.

In the acal_log.txt I can only see:

OS: Microsoft Windows NT 6.2.9200.0 (Cores: 4)
StartTime: 2013-05-04 21:00:31
----------
Alc information:
AlcVersion=1.1
AvailableExtensions=ALC_ENUMERATE_ALL_EXT ALC_ENUMERATION_EXT ALC_EXT_CAPTURE ALC_EXT_disconnect ALC_EXT_EFX ALC_EXT_thread_local_context
AvailableDevices:
DirectSound Default
Headphones (2- High Definition Audio Device) via DirectSound
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (2- High Definition Audio Device) via DirectSound
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (2- High Definition Audio Device) #2 via DirectSound
WaveOut Default
Headphones (2- High Definition via WaveOut
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (2- High via WaveOut
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (2- High #2 via WaveOut
No Output
----------------
2013-05-04 21:00:31| Started the MediaManager. Multithreaded=True
2013-05-04 21:02:20| Stopped the MediaManager.

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Error 2 and error 18 ... to sad nice music though!

Beerman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Very chilled-out. Reminds me of the bonus stages in Tempest 2000

radmars says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:59am

Wow I love this concept! Would be amazing with gamepad (or mouse, or any kind of analog) controls. Great music too.

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:30am

Wow, fun game. The controls were a bit tough, and collision detection was claiming I was hitting things that didn't look like I was hitting.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:33am

Pretty fun, but I had a lot of depth-perception problems playing with it. It's difficult to tell how close I am to gems and the rings.

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:35am

Oh, forgot to mention that this game reminds me a bit of Master of the Lamps.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:03am

really nice job -- great theme and remods me of magic carpet -- awesome

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]