April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sisyphus

by sorceress - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A first person game.

My interpretation of the theme this month is that of a minimalistic life, as suffered by Sisyphus of Greek Mythological fame.

My game adds a modern twist to that myth. ;-)

Controls are with mouse and keyboard:
-WASD or cursors to walk
-Mouse to turn, look, aim, and shoot
-Number keys to select inventory options.
-Spacebar to select menu options.

You will need to do some exploring to access the later parts of the game.

I hope you enjoy playing this, as I've certainly enjoyed making it!

Now I sleep ...zzzZZZ

----
edit: removed some debugging code that was interfering with the proper running of the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#160Humor3.06
#196Mood3.38
#325Graphics3.38
#512Audio2.77
#520Overall3.20
#610Fun2.93
#804Innovation2.80
#1135Theme2.83

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:32am

Nice!

31eee384 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Impressive! I just wish there was more to do, especially during the day. Really like the graphics and audio.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

looks pretty. Wish I could play but I'm only windows or mac.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31am

First off - the text font and UI style immediately make me nostalgic in the best of ways! Secondly, I didn't finish it :x I made it to the second day and the gods dropping potatoes, empty crates and self-exploding devices was really funny, but not enough to keep me waiting an entire 'nother day :P I emptied the clip on the third weapon though, it was really, really satisfying, way more than the other two. The kick was perfect.

The zombies don't really have any AI so it just feels like I'm playing a hunting game more than anything else. I didn't take a single bit of damage. Maybe it gets better as you go? But it ramps up too slow I think and the days were tooooooo long, or at least there wasn't enough to do.

And I have to say this as a joke, with a tiny bit of truth to it, "yeah playing this game felt like eternal punishment." :P Overall, really really impressive technically, but just too dull to keep my attention for long enough to "finish" a never-ending game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

"I am Sysyphus. I pissed off Zeus and now I use a mchinegun to fight exploding zombies, while wearing this sweet camo-dress. Also, I can walk through Trees"

Nice Take on The Idea, is what I'm trying to say :P

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:29am

Nice game! Pretty fast paced, did get a bit slow during the day time and because a little boring at those points. Other than that, great game!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:13am

Those are some cool graphics and it is nice to see a unique mythology-inspired theme for a change. Props on aesthetics in general!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

The head bob gave me motion sickness, and it was very hard for me to line up a headshot with the pellet gun. I didn't bother playing the 2nd day.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:18am

zombie explosion!

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:05am

* You pick up a potato...
gods are killing me XD

Amazing videogame to be made in 48h, really impressive the day/night cicle, and the concept is something like mixing dead island, minecraft and quake XD

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52am

Nice gameplay. The menu looked really nice.

WauloK says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Good. I quite enjoyed it :)

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

This was really cool, except for the day night cycle. The nights were a bit too long, but more importantly, the days were really long, and had basically nothing to do in them. It doesn't matter if day is shorter than night, just make day 20 seconds long.

Also, sometimes the parcels were quite tricky to find. Perhaps make a beacon from the sky come down to them so you know where you are?

But other than that, really cool game. I noticed that the zombie face textures were awesome, as well. The text and the story are interesting .The guns are cool. Overall, great, just a bit hampered by the long days.

Also.. Sisyphus? Not Tithonus?

ming_tea says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:10am

Pretty fun, and I loved the addition of the day/night cycle. Awesome stuff.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:57am

Neat and polished, haha! :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Very good !

May 2, 2013 @ 11:39pm

I'd play it, but its impossible to run... On start up the screen comes down all choppy and there is no damn way to hit new game :/ Specs - AMD FX8350 32Gb RAM, ATI HD5770

Boiúna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:03am

Really liked the graphics and audio. =D

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:23am

It seemed like a fun game, but I don't really get where minimalism comes in? In fact, if anything, I'd say it felt quite cluttered as a game.

May 5, 2013 @ 6:29pm

nice little game here. I thought the movement was a bit sensitive. What was weapon number 5? i don't think i ever got it. enduring the long days, was, interesting. for some reason this game made me feel like slenderman, only not so scary. :)

Pinkerator says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:58am

Nice "God of War" variation :))

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Great game with a load of replayability! Love the zombies catching on fire! Gods sent me a potato.

Norgg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:51pm

This is the only game I have ever given an N/A for fun. Many points everywhere else.

kibertoad says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I do realize that this is not supposed to be balanced for fun, but getting two health packs and no ammo for a parcel? Come on! Excellent twist on the "survival incoming waves" idea, I enjoyed it a lot.

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Nice game, was it just me or do we just get joke parcels after a while? I wanted more ammo! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]