April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Continuus

by Jase - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** Please Note ** This is built using Monogame 3.0, which unfortunately requires OpenAL to be installed. You can download OpenAL from http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip if you don't already have it. I'm very sorry :(

=====================================================

Addressing the Ludum Dare 26 theme: Minimalism

I chose to approach the LD26 theme graphically and conceptually.

Graphically, I chose to use simplistic colours and objects, void of detailed textures. The hope was that the visual clutter would be reduced to the point where they become purely a mechanism for seeing the underlying concepts change over the course of the game.

Conceptually, I attempted to explore the idea of basic human interaction in it's most minimal state: connecting with one another. This is done in the game by allowing the player to perform either positive or negative actions against other characters in the game world, visualising those connections as they form and change over time.

The player must connect with other characters in order to find that single most valuable connection, but through doing so will encounter unpredictable responses to what seems like a straightforward
action.

I don't know if this game manages to explore the idea of human connections in the way that I had imagined, but it's at least something I can submit to LD26 :)

BONUS: Enter the Konami Code at the main menu to activate a secret mode for playing.

UPDATE: My timelapse: http://youtu.be/C8rQcrX_QbM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#35Innovation4.08
#121Mood3.57
#130Audio3.48
#147Graphics3.78
#196Overall3.58
#249Theme3.88
#327Humor2.61
#826Fun2.69

Comments

paranoiks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

When I try to run this it says "...stopped working"

ecool377 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

great game

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

I was actually really excited to play this after reading the description, but it crashes when attempting to execute. Win 7 64bit. Download file, extract, attempt to run LD26Continuus.exe.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

Very innovative and good use of the theme.

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

"I was actually really excited to play this after reading the description, but it crashes when attempting to execute. Win 7 64bit. Download file, extract, attempt to run LD26Continuus.exe." [1]

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Hey guys, for those that are experiencing crashing, could you please put the log file up on pastebin or similar? Log file will be here: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\LD26-Jase\game.log

Thanks

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

That may actually be the problem. That folder isn't present. Even if I run it as Admin, or in the various compatibility modes, it doesn't launch. Here's a pastebin to the only error info I can find: http://pastebin.com/KgKhSmsh

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

Same here, win7 64 bits . Crashes... :(

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

* Update: Found out it's because Monogame 3 has a dependency on OpenAL. I'm seeing if I can bundle the required DLL's now, but for the moment, here's the OpenAL installer (a pain in the ass, I know) : http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

I am having trouble downloading it.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Get a server error when I try to download it

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

That fixed it. Thanks! Now we can play. :-)

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

I really like the graphics, they make the game very relaxing and the gameplay is pretty original.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Not working on Win8

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Loved your game! Neat concept, nice execution, a bit too hard. Excellent mood.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Can't beat it. Nice ambiance.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17am

i got one part of the game as of now lol. there's something in the game that makes me want to understand the game more. i like the music it's very relaxing to hear. Great game!

May 2, 2013 @ 5:24am

No windows machine available for me, so I can't leave a rating on this one.

TaleLore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Confusing and relaxing.

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Pretty ambitious subject! I don't know if it's on purpose, but 4 minutes is pretty short time to try to find your match. I played several times and never found anyone even nearly suitable.

May 6, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it on my Win XP 32bit laptop (no error message though). :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]